Dissecting the Casual Racism of “Airplane!”

Nathanael Molnár
incluvie
Published in
1 min readJul 10, 2020
**This article contains some spoilers for Airplane!**

Airplane! (1980) is a fun spoof comedy with lots of laughs, right? I watched this film on Netflix for the first time the other night. Instantly, I recognized so many references and clips that I had previously heard and seen. At every turn, it’s filled with great gags that are so incredibly clever and intelligently crafted. Even for someone watching it for the first time all these years later, I loved it.

Then came the racist jokes.

I think it’s easy for people to dismiss this as being a “product of its time.” I agree, but that doesn’t excuse the racism, nor does it mean that we can’t dissect why these jokes are problematic. If we gloss over casual racism in older movies, it doesn’t allow us to understand the issue with them; and if we don’t understand why they are problematic, then we can’t take the necessary steps to evolve as a culture.

See full article on Incluvie: Dissecting the Casual Racism of “Airplane!”

--

--

Nathanael Molnár
incluvie

I’ve been writing about movies since 2014. I studied film at Fitchburg State University, and I’ve written and directed some short films. @nathanaelmolnar