Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens…Wakey wakey, eggs and bakey!

Atheist Bale
incluvie
Published in
10 min readJan 23, 2020

--

If this happened to R2D2 and C-3PO on Tatooine in Episode IV, there’s no way they would have survived. It’s a good thing BB-8 can roll.

With The Rise of Skywalker out and about, I decided to cash in on the hype and review all of the Star Wars movies that have been released since Disney acquired Lucasfilm in 2012. I think it has been an…interesting ride, to say the least. And I think I’m at a point where I’d rather live in a world with hit and miss attempts to continue the Star Wars story than one that simply ends with Revenge of the Sith (or Star Wars: The Clone Wars) as the last theatrical Star Wars release. So, here’s The Force Awakens. Well, maybe. Let me go on a tangent for a moment.

I’m going to be very direct here: I’m a fan of the sequel series of Star Wars (so far). I think they are far and away superior to the prequels in every single decision they make. I believe the prequels had the advantage of the more interesting story to tell, the fall of Anakin Skywalker, but they absolutely butchered it. Exposition dumping, stale characters and dialogue, abysmal special effects, storyline padding, fan service, and so many other countless factors ruined what could have been a fascinating tale. I think the only salvageable things from the prequels are a few action pieces, the incredible musical score, Ewan McGregor’s portrayal of Obi-Wan Kenobi and Ian McDiarmid’s portrayal of Palpatine, and the scene of Anakin finding his mother in Attack of the Clones.

--

--

Atheist Bale
incluvie

I’m not a pessimist, I’m correct. Follow me for troglodyte slaying 101.