The Best Movies of the 2010s

AJ Ford
incluvie
Published in
19 min readMar 4, 2020

This was probably the most personally important decade for me in terms of filmmaking. I started reviewing movies in 2010 but didn’t take movies seriously from an artistic standpoint until 2013. Since then, I’ve had time to catch up for this list of what I consider to be my absolute favorites of the decade. First I want to mention this list was NOT fun to make. Why? Well, take a look at this decade. We’ve had great movie after great movie. It’s impossible to rank, but I think I solidified my top 15.

Of course, this is all opinion-based, and I have a very specific taste in movies. My taste leans towards independent filmmaking. This is a list of my favorites, so don’t freak out if your favorite movie isn’t on this list. Also, I haven’t seen everything. This list is subject to switch at any point in time so this is my favorite movies of the decade as of now. There are a couple of ties. Yes, ties do exist, as a matter of fact.

First, I want to give my 25–16 as honorable mentions, because I feel bad leaving them out. I love these all so much and they can all be considered some of my new favorite films.

25. Upstream Color directed by Shane Carruth

24. Support the Girls directed by Andrew Bujalski

23. Good Time directed by The Safdie Brothers

22. Hereditary and Midsommar directed by Ari Aster

21. Black Swan directed by Darren Aronofsky

20. Marriage Story directed by Noah Baumbach

19. Paterson directed by Jim Jarmusch

18. Mad Max: Fury Road directed by George Miller

17. The Lobster and The Favourite directed by Yorgos Lanthimos

16. The Last Black Man in San Francisco directed by Joe Talbot

15. Inside Llewyn Davis, directed by The Coen Brothers

I might sound crazy, but this might be my favorite Coen Brothers movie. It’s damn depressing. But is it entirely? Because the character of Llewyn is someone who always gets back up from whatever life throws at him, and continues walking. We learn that he’s not a bad guy, he just doesn’t have the best social skills, because his depression gets in the way. The Coen Brothers captured that beautifully. It uses folk music as a cathartic escape and it presents itself as extremely peaceful. Something that doesn’t get enough credit is the cinematography; the movie has a very unique color palette that looks dull and bleak, but at the same time, looks very uplifting and hopeful. In a film about a man who feels like there isn’t hope to be had, there’s always some sort of brightness in every shot indicating that that kind of hope that Llewyn’s been longing for is near. He just has to keep getting back up and not give up. I could’ve spent hours with this movie because the way this whole thing was written was perfect.

14. It Follows, directed by David Robert Mitchell

My favorite horror movie of the decade. Sorry, not sorry. This is probably the most entertaining horror movie I’ve seen in years. The way David Robert Mitchell presents this story is so bizarre, but I couldn’t look away. I love how it’s literally supposed to feel like a dream. We never get a sense of where this take place and what time period it is because that’s not important. What’s important is what’s happening on the surface, which is where the horror comes in. We don’t know what these things are and what they’ll do if they catch you. It made for an intense experience, but what I also love is that it also doesn’t take itself too seriously. This is a ridiculous concept and it just has fun with it. Not every horror movie needs to be “terrifying” to be effective. I prefer build up and development rather than scares per minute.

13. Brigsby Bear, directed by Dave McCrary

What I love most about Brigsby Bear is that the kindness and heart is everywhere. With the way our main character, James, acts and him being so open about what he wants to do you expect people to just shun him from society but actually no. The people around James want to help him accomplish his goal of finishing Brigsby and nobody judges him even once, and even when he does make mistakes, it’s not out of thoughtlessness, he just doesn’t know any better. This is why I feel Brigsby Bear was better than something like The Disaster Artist. I know The Disaster Artist is based on a true story, and it is a good movie, but I felt The Disaster Artist was too unrealistically mean-spirited to a point where it became too goofy. Meanwhile, Brigsby Bear feels more genuine. I feel this movie was extremely misunderstood when it came out, because people weren’t expecting it to be as weird as it was. But I found the movie to be inspiring and sweet. James Pope is one of my favorite characters of the decade. Even though he knows pretty much nothing about the outside world, he’s still determined to do nothing else in the world aside from finishing his movie, which leads to my favorite movie moment of the decade which is the final minute. It perfectly wraps up James’ arc, it perfectly presents the message, and it’s ultimately satisfying to see a character you’ve been rooting for get the ending he deserves. It couldn’t have ended better, and I cry every time.

12. Call Me By Your Name, directed by Luca Guadagnino

What makes Call Me by Your Name so beautiful is its ability to put us in the perspective of our main character, Elio. This is a story about experiencing first love and first heartbreak no matter who that person may be that causes it. I keep hearing people say the movie was too slow…but I think that’s the point. When Elio falls in love with Oliver, time slows between them. He and Oliver are the only things that matter, and Elio wants to savor the moment. He longs for that feeling that only Oliver gives him. When it’s all taken away from him, the emotions hit especially hard. The love he felt for Oliver is something that he hasn’t felt before, yes we see him have another relationship in the film, but the connection he had with Oliver was different. It was the joy he didn’t know he needed. I think that’s something we can all relate to. Luca Guadagnino’s vision of love and heartbreak is one of the most realistic and cathartic I’ve ever seen. It’s a quiet movie, but that’s what it needs to be. It needs to take its time to let us become attached to these characters and like I said before, put us in their perspective. And the amount of heart is second to none.

11. Portrait of a Lady on Fire, directed by Celine Sciamma

I’ve already reviewed this for Incluvie, so I’ll go fast, because if I seriously have to talk about this masterpiece again, I’ll be here all day. And probably cry, because that’s how powerful this film is. Every frame of this looks like a painting and every single color is so fleshed out and just bleeds through; it’s impossible to look away from it. I can’t begin to tell you how much this genuinely moved me on not only a filmmaking level, but an emotional level. The lack of musical score gave the movie such a peaceful and loving vibe. It’s slow, sure, but I could’ve spent 5 hours with this movie. Sciamma is a director who’s work I want to binge watch right now. If her movies are as good as this, then we’ve had a master on our hands for quite a while now. Portrait of a Lady on Fire isn’t like most other films. It engages you in such an unconventional way a way you wouldn’t expect… A way that’s just so beautiful. And the bonfire scene is one for the history books.

10. Honey Boy, directed by Alma Ha’Rel

Honey Boy is an important film, and one I didn’t know I needed. It gives people who carry so much emotional baggage a voice, and it makes sure they’re loud and clear. Of course I do love all the aspects of filmmaking done in here, the performances are amazing, especially the three main leads (LaBeouf, Jupe, and Hedges). The musical score here is fantastic, the cinematography by Natasha Braier is very impressive, and makes it feel like the time period. And Alma Ha’Rel directs this with such passion and determination…it’s all fantastic. But at its heart, Honey Boy is a movie that makes me reflect on my own life. How I choose to deal with my situations and how I choose to deal and forgive those who have wronged me, if I choose to forgive. The film teaches us that the past is the past, it already happened, and you can’t change that. Instead of changing it, use it to make a difference in this world. Your pain might be high, but use it to give others who are suffering a voice. Shia LaBeouf and Alma Ha’Rel delievered that message beautifully and it’s truly a force to be reckoned with.

9. Moonlight, directed by Barry Jenkins

Moonlight is special. Not special in a way in that would show this to everyone I know, but special in a way that it’s memorable to me. Moonlight is a film all about being yourself, no matter what hardships you go through. Here, Chiron is constantly bullied and dealing with his drug-addicted mother, while also discovering he’s gay in an area where that’s not welcome. But Chiron never lets his guard down. He knows how to stand up for himself and he never lets anyone belittle him for who he truly is. Barry Jenkins tackled that theme perfectly. The frequent use of a blue color palette is supposed to represent pride in yourself and your culture, and we see Chiron struggle with that pride throughout most of the film. Throughout pretty much all of it, he’s confused with himself, always wondering what’s right and what’s wrong. Barry Jenkins put a lot of soul and ambiguity into his film and I appreciate how personal it is. It’s also clear that Miami is extremely important to him. Miami is given this artistic look that I haven’t seen in most movies. I could go on and on about Moonlight, so I’ll just finish and say it’s a masterpiece.

8. TIE: Free Solo, directed by Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi

Yup, ties still exist. Lets start with Free Solo. I have seen this movie more times than any other movie this decade. This one of the most beautiful movies I have ever seen. Free Solo gives us such a fascinating look at such a fascinating man, Alex Honnald, and how his determination and passion lead him to where he is today. This man climbed a rock wall that was 3,000 feet tall without any gear to help him out, and the film does an amazing job going through the psychological aspect of him and everyone around him. It doesn’t shove the thought of “he’s could fall and die” down your throat. Instead, while it does have that worry, most people are actually saying he might be able to pull this off because of how determined he is to do it. Even if he does die while doing it, he believes that his overall life will be fulfilled because he rose up to that challenge. Free Solo is the movie that reminded me that people are awesome. That no matter what, as long as you have your passion, friends, and family, you can accomplish anything and you will find your purpose in life. Never has a documentary made me feel so many different kinds of emotion while watching it. It’s probably my favorite documentary ever, if not, it’s definitely in the top 2.

…and Minding the Gap, directed by Bing Liu

Minding the Gap is the ultimate love letter to those who live their lives their own way. The film lets us choose for ourselves whether or not to feel for these people. They’re not exactly the best people, but they’re just people doing what they love and what keeps them sane without letting anyone tell them what they can or can not do. I personally love these people and it got to a point where I was so emotionally attached to them that when something bad happened to them, I started breaking down because I knew they didn’t deserve that. The emotional core in this film is second to none and it’s now one of my all time favorite films and definitely one of my top 10, maybe even top 5, favorite documentaries.

7. TIE: Frances Ha, directed by Noah Baumbach

Frances Ha is an emotional character, and the character of Frances is one of my favorites in recent memory. The movie is about a woman who is constantly told that she needs to “grow up,” but her response is to just have more fun with her life. Her philosophy is that being physically older doesn’t mean you still can’t fun with your life. She’s not immature, she’s just trying to love her own life and live life the way she wants. We do see her get stuck in some obstacles, but even when she overcomes those obstacles, she still has a huge amount of energy to her. It’s all developed and executed to perfection and I wouldn’t change a thing about this movie.

…and 20th Century Women, directed by Mike Mills

Mike Mills is such a masterful director and an even better writer. It’s great to have a feminist film that not only tries to educate people on what feminism actually is, but just tells the story of the women in one’s life and how they turned them into who they are today. Mike Mills brings a surprising amount of energy and humor into this film. I feel that if it wasn’t lighthearted all the way through, then it just wouldn’t be honest. What this movie is as a whole is just a love letter to not only the women in his life, but to feminism as well. This is the kind of movie that I’d want to make if I had the opportunity.

6. Greta Gerwig’s entire filmography (so far).

Greta Gerwig is absolutely my favorite up-and-coming director working right now. So I’m putting both of her films on my list as a tie, because she deserves it. Lets start with Little Women. The sense of absolute euphoria and happiness I felt throughout this whole thing is unlike anything I’ve felt watching most movies. Every shot felt like a painting, every shot had it’s own sense of life to it. I couldn’t look away. I’ve seen so many movies this year where it’s just chaotic and hopeless. Here, it’s all hopeful. It’s all peaceful and just…happy. Gerwig made something we all deserved, something with love oozing in every frame. Something I personally just needed. I needed this kind of happiness. This movie inspired me and it’s going to be a movie that inspires up and coming film makers. I’m just so happy that a movie like this exists. It needs to exist and it needs to be seen. But on a more personal level, I haven’t had the best few years. It’s been pretty bleak and dark, but this movie gave me the happiness and energy that I’ve wanted to feel. I’ve shown this movie to most people I know, and I’ve been obsessing over it.

Most of my friends have heard me obsess over Lady Bird, and here’s my chance to finally explain why I love this movie to pieces. It would be too easy to say it’s relatable all the way through, even though it totally is. But the way Gerwig talks about home is something that’s always stuck with me. We’re looking at the perspective of someone who throughout the whole thing hates where she is, and because of it, is a cynic. As she finally leaves though, she realizes that Sacramento was home all along. It’s about realizing that you had everything you needed in your life but consistently acting before you think. It’s about thinking everything is unfair, but later on understanding what the real world is actually like. Gerwig captures that beautifully. It’s not overly dramatic it’s just trying to portray that kind of behavior as authentically as possible so when that realization kicks in, the emotional weight of it hits you like a truck. Gerwig is a master of developing characters and delivering a satisfying payoff, and that’s why she’s my favorite up and coming director.

5. The Social Network, directed by David Fincher

This might be a little cliché, but can you blame me? Have you seen this movie? Like, recently? I still can’t believe this came out 10 years ago. It feels like it came out yesterday. This movie is pretty much timeless now. This is one of the most masterfully made films in the past 20 years or so. Literally everything about this movie is spellbinding. I’m kind of jealous of it. The script is so quick and sharp and still relevant even to this day. There are lines here that will stick with me for the rest of my life. There are moments here that are clearly so carefully planned and so thoughtfully edited that every time I watch, my jaw drops to the floor. Can I talk about the score now? Yeah? Yeah this is my favorite movie score ever. Listen to it. It’s on Spotify. It fits every scene seamlessly, it’s intense, it’s haunting, it’s everything. This movie still blows me away every single time I watch it. It’s the definition of flawless filmmaking.

THIS. STILL. BLOWS. MY. MIND.

4. Columbus, directed by Kogonada

This is cinematic meditation. Columbus is a film that’s very quiet, pretty monotone, and the very definition of beautiful. This might be top 3 best looking movies I’ve ever seen. The director, Kogonada, doesn’t waste a frame here, and took advantage of symmetry in particular, which I think was trying to show how separated from the world our main characters, Jin and Casey, feel. These are two people who just feel lost within the world and by chance, form a rare connection. That rare connection being the same passion. Passion is the main theme here. Passion has always been something that fascinates me. Hearing someone go on and on about what they love puts me in such a great mood. Hearing Casey talk about architecture the way that she does was just breathtaking. Not only Casey’s love for architecture, but I can tell Kogonada is passionate about the world and the history around it. He wants to flesh literally everything out. He wants every surrounding thing in his shots so nothing gets misplaced. That’s why the movie looks as beautiful as it does. That’s why the whole film feels so peaceful and welcoming. Kogonada is grabbing those who feel lost in this world by the hand and telling them embrace what you are passionate about. There’s someone out there who feels the same way. I can’t help but cry. This is a film that I watch regularly. It came out at the perfect time for me and it feels like not only just a free ground to vent where everyone can hear you but it feels like a warm hug. This is one of my very favorite films.

3. Her, directed by Spike Jonze

In this film, Spike Jonze asks what it means to truly be in love. Do you love someone for their appearance? Or is just hearing their voice enough? Her takes place in a futuristic Los Angeles where new conscious operating systems exist. They’re aware of their surroundings and they talk to you like normal human beings. But what makes Her so special is that from frame one to the last, everything is so small-scaled, and the tone is focused on love. The futuristic setting is not the focus. You don’t get to explore much of it. You can just kind of tell when it takes place, and it doesn’t need to be spoon fed to you. The focus is just the relationship between Theodore and Samantha, his AI. Samantha is just a voice, but Theodore is a man who is extremely lonely and depressed. Just having a voice give him comfort and make him feel good is more than enough. He’s sharing his life with someone, and that’s all he needs. The movie is depressing, don’t get me wrong, but Her captures that feeling of being in love in a way I haven’t seen most films do. It captures that confidence boost beautifully, and it captures the heartbreak beautifully. It really hurts to watch, but by the end, I always feel hopeful. This movie gives me hope in the most beautiful way. One of my very favorite movies, and I know I sound like a broken record, but the score by Arcade Fire is an all-timer.

2. The Grand Budapest Hotel, directed by Wes Anderson

“Hey AJ, who’s your favorite direc-” Wes Anderson. Wes Anderson is the man who made me want to make my own films. The man who inspired me to write. The Grand Budapest Hotel might be my favorite from him. The Grand Budapest Hotel is the best live action Looney Tunes movie we’ll ever get to see. Every time I watch this I notice something different. Whether it’d be a new joke or an amazing technique, Anderson was able to pull off with the editing and cinematography. I still don’t understand how Anderson was able to pull off this storybook feel, and make every one of these sets look so realistic and lived in. As cartoon-like as the movie looks, it FEELS like it’s in the 1930s setting. Even the films score FEELS like it’s just part of the atmosphere of the film, it blends so perfectly with whats going on that you kind of just forget that it’s there. In a good way. Wes Anderson is also known for his use of symmetry and geometry in his films, and I think it’s top-notch here as everything lines up perfectly, and it sucks you in to this world he so amazingly created. This is one of my top 5 favorite movies ever made, and it’s one of those movies I can watch anytime, and it’ll put me in a great mood.

1. Before Midnight, directed by Richard Linklater

Finally. It all comes down to this. Richard Linklaters Before trilogy is my favorite trilogy ever, and Before Midnight is above and beyond my favorite. It’s the most mature portrayal of romance I’ve ever seen and it has such an emotional toll on me. First off, the dialogue is spellbinding and I can listen to these two talk for ages. Second, I relate to this like no other. Most of the relationships I’ve had have been like Celine and Jesse style love just constantly talking, knowing something new every single time you’re with them. In Before Midnight, I feel like this type of love they have for each other (excluding the fight scene) is how I want to love someone, and how I want someone to love me. This movie just speaks to me on a level that I can’t explain. Not just me, but I think anybody can relate to that.

When we fall in love, we kind of lose this sense of the real world, and just think that everything can work out fine. While that can be true for some people, this film is also just telling us to get our heads out of the sand and grow up. Nothing is perfect but nothing really needs to be perfect. You’re going to hit some really horrible hardships and you’re going to be put in the spot immediately and in that moment you have to act quick in order to fix everything. It’s nothing against you, it’s just life. Isn’t that kind of beautiful, though? Isn’t one of the best part of a relationship that there can be disagreements and hardships, and isn’t real true love is trying to be able to work it all out? And once it all wraps up, and I hear that final line, I always feel whole. Out of every movie on this list this is one of my most re-watched, and it’s one of my top 3 favorite movies of all time.

CONCLUSION

Wow that was a lot to go through, but it really reminded me of just how wonderful this decade was for filmmaking. Wonderful enough for me to actually feel bad leaving movies out. This was such an important decade for film, ESPECIALLY in terms of diversity. We’ve gotten some of the absolute best, angriest, and most beautiful films from Black filmmakers, Asian filmmakers, female filmmakers, and Latino filmmakers. Some of which have been recognized in terms of awards, but sadly, they’re also put under the radar. A Black person still has never won a best directing Oscar, a female director hasn’t won an Oscar for the 2010s decade, and unfortunately, with the internet culture, there will be people who see movies like Moonlight, Call Me By Your Name, 20th Century Women, or Gerwig’s filmography and see them as “desperate attempts to be woke.” Diverse filmmakers and writers exist and they’re making high quality art. In my list you’ll see a very diverse list of films and filmmakers alike, all of which have received critical praise from both critics and audiences. Most of which are reflections of the filmmakers own lives. So let’s make 2020 the decade in which diverse filmmakers finally get even MORE recognized than they were before and diverse films WON’T be seen as “too woke” but rather “the norm,” which is what they are.

--

--

AJ Ford
incluvie

Avid movie buff, youtuber, and intern at Incluvie.