Dark Poetry

Effortless

AVG
The Writing On The Wall
Dec 3, 2022

--

Black background. White line drawing of an outreached hand. White text: “Effortless”.
Black background. White line drawing of an outreached hand. White text: “Effortless”. Image by author via Canva.

Effortless
Is how it must seem
To those
For which
I feign happiness
I’ve studied enough
For me to easily fake
All that I need
To simulate a life
Well lived
But…
I can’t recall a moment
Where I felt
Happy, without following
The thought
With a reminder
That this was more
Than fleeting
This was a mirage
Something
I have convinced myself
[Out of desperation]
Was real
Something I need
In order to survive
Long enough
To make it through

AVG

Dear reader, please stay on this page for at least 30 seconds for Medium to count this as read. Your support is deeply appreciated!

If you like my work and would like to support me, please consider giving me a like, comment, and…

--

--

AVG
The Writing On The Wall

I write as a means to heal. I hope my words can serve as a reminder, that we are not alone. That we all deserve to be heard and seen. [they/them]