Favicons

Lexie Deng
Incrementa / Growing my website
2 min readDec 4, 2014

--

VII

The devil really is in the details; something as small (literally) as the website icon on an address bar (called a favicon) has the potential to communicate so much about a brand. Putting in the effort to change the default favicon says to someone: “I am detail-oriented, conscientious, exacting—I put in effort. Even for the little things.” And at 16 x 16 pixels, to call it small is hardly an exaggeration.

If I had a Marketing Dyad logo, that would have been ideal for favicon-creating purposes. But in all honesty, creating my logo wasn’t/isn’t on my list of current priorities. At this stage of my personal branding journey, I don’t feel there is a pressing need to have a logo; I feel that consistent usage of my chosen colour palette and background image across all channels should be enough to create an easily recognisable and unified brand visual. I didn’t want to do a rush job for the sake of having something to put in an email signature (only to then need to rebrand in a month or two). At this point in time, the fit just isn’t there (I’m not particularly desirous of coming across as pretentious nor over-promising what I offer).

So, in line with the Marketing Dyad colour scheme, I took three seconds out of my day to create a #32cc99 (aquamarine) 16 x 16 pixel image on Photoshop. And it was probably the fastest thing I have ever Photoshopped in my life (no mean feat, considering that my basic graphic design skills do not quite yet extend to speedy design).

To be completely honest, even now, my knowledge of favicons is still limited. After several unsuccessful attempts to change my favicon the usual way (requiring basic HTML, I believe), I fortunately discovered the in-built favicon function in my website builder.

And I’ve never looked back.

--

--

Lexie Deng
Incrementa / Growing my website

BURNT OUT & BEYOND HELP. Former senior programmatic trader, writer, artist. Current suicide planner.