Sugar? ‘No’ please.

Juan Carlo Soriano
Incremental Improvements
2 min readJan 10, 2018

The more I’m trying to make myself aware about my own health and reducing my sugar intake, the more I am hearing about the cons of sugar. I was watching the first episode of the third season of Netflix’s Chef’s Table again (this episode for the third time). It’s my favourite one of the series and I can feel a lot of emotion welling up inside whenever I see it.

I never realized how much I tuned out of the show until today when I suddenly picked up what Jeong Kwan said about sugar: temple food does not use sugar because sugar is a preservative. Quite ironic since most of the episode is about being mindful.

I’ve written about sugar before and how there’s this talk about a cover up on the hazards of eating too much sugar. Colour me not surprised but there just seems to be more compelling reasons, at least personally, to have less sugar in my diet. Now, I love sweets, cheesecakes, ice cream and all those amazing desserts and I probably won’t be able to swear them off. There’s nothing like a foodie adventure to some unknown cafe and trying out their cakes. However, I can definitely cut out sugar from my daily diet.

For today’s improvement:

I am taking my coffee black from now on; no sugar in my tea either.

I have had a lot of barista jobs in the past and have toured Italy and France. I know a bit about coffee and have enjoyed it black. I think I drink coffee sweetened partially because of nostalgia from when I would wake up early morning and my grandpa would let me drink his coffee. I’ve been slowly trying this lately and I really don’t have any problems letting go of sugar. In fact, I can taste the subtle hints and flavour notes of the coffee more.

--

--