I Thought I’d Stay in America if Joe Biden Wins

But with Amy Coney Barrett on the Supreme Court, it’s now become way too dangerous

Joanne Bamberger
Indelible Ink

--

Image via Wikimedia Commons/in the public domain

Where can we move if, God forbid, #45 wins another term as president?

It’s a question I’ve been grappling with for well over a year. Early on when I first started voicing this question, family members rolled their eyes and chuckled, thinking my comments were hyperbole. It took a lot of sit-downs for them to realize I was serious, and that I wanted them to be serious with me because I don’t feel safe here anymore. And if we end up with another four years of #45, I know we will all be much less safe.

(Since our daughter is a French major in college, the thought of a possible move to Europe didn’t make her too sad).

We don’t want to move. The rest of our family most likely would stay put. And while the idea of moving to another country can be an exotic fantasy, usually such thoughts are just that … a fantasy. But we’re not the only Americans who have plans to move somewhere that feels more safe than our increasingly fascist and intolerant America. In light of what history has taught us about fascists, I don’t believe it’s crazy to have a safety plan.

My husband and I both have laid awake at night wondering, “Will the polls be…

--

--

Joanne Bamberger
Indelible Ink

Author, opinion journalist, attorney, photographer. Entreprenurial Journalism Fellow, Newmark J School/CUNY