I Wasn’t Expecting a Coup

But it appears that Trump & his crew are plotting just that

Joanne Bamberger
Indelible Ink

--

Image via Wikimedia Commons/Marc Nozell/Creative Commons License

Based on a series of events over the last few days, I can’t help but think that a coup has been set in motion by the current president and his cronies. I certainly didn't have that possibility on my 2020 Election bingo card.

I expected the toddler in chief to refuse to concede. I expected the GOP to continue its standard operating procedure of falling in line with their leader and refusing to congratulate Joe Biden and Kamala Harris on their White House win. I expected the administration to use its last 70-some days to tear apart whatever they could about fairness and democracy.

But I confess, I didn’t expect a full-out coup attempt.

Just connect the dots from the last few days, and it’s clear that #45 and his administration aren’t just being petulant toddlers by not conceding. A series of actions have specifically been taken that can reasonably be interpreted as setting a coup in motion to prevent Biden and Harris from becoming president and vice-president — one that the president’s pitchfork-and-torch-carrying supporters are sure to get behind. Here are the facts to date:

--

--

Joanne Bamberger
Indelible Ink

Author, opinion journalist, attorney, photographer. Entreprenurial Journalism Fellow, Newmark J School/CUNY