We Are the Witnesses and This is Our History

Ramona Grigg
Indelible Ink
Published in
3 min readAug 22, 2020

--

Photo by Sergey Pesterev on Unsplash

Hello, Indelible Ink followers. It’s been a while since our last newsletter but our writers have been busily at work writing the kinds of stories we love and are thrilled to be publishing. I hope you’ve been enjoying them all, and I hope you’ll go on seeking us out as a publication you appreciate and admire.

There are literally thousands of publications on Medium and we’re not all equal. Some will accept anything and welcome every writer with open arms. There is no editing, no judging, no help given to writers who sometimes get it wrong and need some help. Others are super-strict about their content and only accept the very best from Medium’s top writers. They expect perfection and it pays off: They’re more often curated and they almost always make more money.

Indelible Ink falls somewhere in between.

This is a one-woman operation but I care very much about the stories I publish here. I turn down many more manuscripts than I publish, but I’m not so tough that I won’t let something through that shines despite some problems. I publish many stories from writers whose native language isn’t English. Because I love what they have to say, because they bring so much to our understanding of their culture, because they’re often wonderfully charming, they’ll often get by with just the slightest editorial interference. Their stories have worth and I’m honored to give them the space here, as I am with all of our writers.

Photo by Timothy L Brock on Unsplash

I’m proud of the work here at Indelible Ink and I hope we can go on adding to Medium’s content in a way that makes us all proud. We are the witnesses and this is our history. Much of what we publish here follows my vision of personal growth and activism. The work here resonates. It’s indelible.

We’re living in trying times and we need to raise our voices in order to be heard, but we also need some R&R, so we love publishing stories that are fun and enlightening, too. We need to feel good, to engage, to remind ourselves that caring is essential in a world too often ready to crush us.

So please check out our latest stories by clicking on this link and entering our amazing village. Don’t forget to clap — 50 times if you’re feeling it— and comments are always welcome. Our writers are some of the best on Medium and I want to thank you again for reading our work and being our friends.

If you’re a writer who likes what you see and want to join our writers roster, please read our Submission Guidelines first, then email me as directed.

Until next time, my best to you,

Ramona Grigg.

--

--