Aileen’s Story

Eleanor Killner
Independent Age
Published in
3 min readSep 13, 2021

Aileen tells us about her experience as a telephone volunteer, becoming ‘good pals’ with Yvonne and learning all about cricket from Will.

“Becoming a Telephone Befriender all came about when I was telling a friend how I wanted to volunteer to visit older people in their homes but, because we like to go on long holidays, it just wouldn’t be possible to maintain regular contact with anyone. It wouldn’t be right to make a friendship, then just go off and abandon them for weeks on end! That’s when she told me that Independent Age does telephone befriending as well as face to face visits. What a great idea — you can easily phone someone from practically anywhere in the world these days!

Aileen, Telephone Volunteer

I got in touch with Independent Age, who were happy to consider me as a telephone volunteer. I filled in the forms and completed the online training course, which ensures that their elderly clients are properly treated and protected and also for the protection of the volunteers as well.

I was paired up first of all with a delightful lady who lived on her own and, at 94, pretty much looked after herself and cooked her own meals every night. Her son lived quite close by so was able to shop for her and drop in to see her but, for people living on their own, the chance to talk to someone other than family offers them wider conversation and something different to look forward to each week.

My second match was with a lady in Yorkshire, who is actually only a little older than I am but whose health is not good, so she can’t get out on her own. It made me realise how lucky I am to have good health — you don’t have to be a young person to volunteer! I ring my lady (let’s call her ‘Yvonne’ from Yorkshire) every week and sometimes more often. ‘Yvonne’ and I have become good pals and have lovely, long chats. Although her son takes her shopping every week, she doesn’t have any friends locally so has no visitors, and spends practically all day, every day on her own. Lockdown hasn’t made the situation any easier for ‘Yvonne’ and so many other elderly people just like her. We’ve been friends now for two and a half years and the time has flown by!

I was asked last year if I would be prepared to take on another befriending call so I now also talk to ‘Will’ from Wolverhampton each week. I wondered how I’d get on chatting to a gentleman but, even with my lack of interest in cricket and football, ‘Will’ and I pass the time of day together very well and I’ve learned a lot about cricket!

Telephone befriending has brought me a huge sense of satisfaction. I’ve always enjoyed the company of older people because they have such knowledge and experience of life and always have a tale to tell.

In fact, I’m not sure who benefits the most from the phone calls as they certainly cheer me up!”

--

--

Eleanor Killner
Independent Age

Volunteering Engagement Assistant at Independent Age.