Meet the Team — Digital and Phone Services

Eleanor Killner
Independent Age
Published in
3 min readSep 13, 2021

Find out more about our Digital and Phone services from the team themselves…

The Digital and Phone Services team are pictured together in front of Tower Bridge in London.

There’s been a bit of change in Digital and Phone Services. Emily, our Digital and Phone Services manager, and Louise, our Digital and Phone Services assistant joined us in April. Sadly, Hanifa, one of our wellbeing officers, will be leaving Independent Age this month. Read the full story below to find out more about the team.

A headshot of Digital and Phone Services Manager, Emily, with a colourful background.

Hi, I’m Emily, the Digital and Phone Services Manager. I joined Independent Age in April 2021 after three years with intergenerational charity The Cares Family, where I managed social connection projects. I’m passionate about people and their potential, and particularly storytelling, being a published poet and avid reader.

A headshot of Digital and Phone Services Assistant, Louise, smiling with a blurred background.

I’m Louise and my role at Independent Age is the Digital and Phone Services Assistant. I have been at Independent Age since April 2021. Prior to this I completed my BSc in Psychology and volunteered with the Alzheimer’s Society. Outside of work I enjoy visiting art galleries, creating playlists, travelling and eating good food!

A headshot of Virtual Events Coordinator, Rahma, smiling with a white background.

Hello, I’m Rahma and I am the Virtual Events Coordinator. I manage all our virtual groups and support our wonderful group facilitators. I have worked for Independent Age for almost two years (in January 2022!). Before I joined, I used to work for the Silverline helpline as a Befriending Coordinator. Outside of work I enjoy discovering new cuisines (I’m an absolute foodie!). Due to recent world events, I enjoy going for walks and exploring the English countryside.

A headshot of Wellbeing Project Officer, Liam, in front of a bricked wall.

I’m Liam, and I have been managing one-to-one telephone friendships at Independent Age for almost three years. I have a background in social work, working with young people and families. I also worked for Action for Children’s befriending services for a few years. You can usually find me hopping in and out of west end theatres or reading a Spanish book, trying to work out what on earth is going on.

A headshot of Wellbeing Project Officer, Thom, with a picture hanging on the wall behind him.

Hi, I’m Thom and I joined Independent Age in January 2020, I manage a caseload of one-to-one telephone friendship matches. Before coming to Independent Age I worked at RNIB, coordinating telephone social groups and book groups. In my spare time I make pottery. I also love going to exhibitions and watching live music.

To contact the team, call 0207 605 4465, or email telephone.services@independentage.org If you need to raise a safeguarding concern outside of office hours (Monday to Friday, 9am-5pm), call the out of hours safeguarding number which is 0207 605 4455. This number is operational Monday to Friday, 5pm-9pm, and Saturday and Sunday, 9am-5pm.

--

--

Eleanor Killner
Independent Age

Volunteering Engagement Assistant at Independent Age.