Bargain hunting: Veronica’s tips for cutting costs

Independent Age
Independent Age
Published in
2 min readOct 19, 2022

With belts already tightened and bills set to soar, self-proclaimed ‘Second Hand Rose’ Veronica, from the South East, has discovered a great way to ease the pressure

I’ve always been an independent spirit and, having worked in the fashion business, I have an eye for a bargain, so I buy all my clothes from charity shops. Just recently, I found a beautiful pair of spectacles for £2 and had my prescription lenses put into them. They’d have cost me probably 50 times more at the opticians.

Yes, like the old Barbra Streisand song, I’m a ‘Second Hand Rose’. I put real value on being able to enjoy life while you conserve money.

I use the library for reading, I volunteer at a museum. I have little tricks to keep the bills down, like heating my coffee in the microwave rather than boiling a kettle, and not using the oven as much. I live in a bedsit where the central heating is turned off after the winter, so I try to save money on extra heating by piling on the sweaters if I’m chilly.

Even so, we all get unexpected expenses, extra costs that make the struggle a little bit harder, particularly with pensions that aren’t enough for anyone to realistically live on. But thankfully I’m on Pension Credit now, which I wouldn’t even have known existed without calling the Helpline at Independent Age. It’s an essential top-up for someone like me, who doesn’t have the luxury of savings.

Seeking help doesn’t always come naturally to many in my generation, but looking to Independent Age for advice has been such a tonic, better than any medicine. I know that there is also someone I can ring and say, “I don’t quite know what to do about this”.

The Helpline has helped me understand about the money I’m entitled to. To have that moral support and guidance when you’re living on your own is invaluable.

Veronica’s top tips

Here are some things Veronica is doing this year to cut costs…

  1. Search charity shops for bargains. Charity shops and eBay have great clothes and some still have their tags on!
  2. Make use of your local library. Warm and cosy this winter and nothing beats a good book.
  3. Heat your coffee in the microwave rather than boiling the kettle. Microwaves are much cheaper to run.
  4. Batch cook meals to save on energy costs. This could save you up to £158 per year.
  5. Call the Independent Age Helpline on 0800 319 6789 to arrange a free benefits check.

--

--