11 mango recipes to spice up your summer!

Indian Gastronomy
Indian Gastronomy
Published in
4 min readMay 11, 2017

Every single soul born in India knows how much of a connection they have with the mango season. India is world’s largest producer of mangoes but only contributes to 1% of international trade — guess why? We eat all of it. We are also largest consumers of mangoes.

I remember as a kid we waited starting April for mangoes. So many different recipes and foods surround mangoes. Raw mangoes in April and early may before they turn ripe are used in making savory dishes and pickles. Once they get ripe starting mid may till almost end of June we feed on them for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I kid you not! I compiled the best recipes on internet that should equip you this summer with best use of all types of mangoes. You are welcome. :)

  1. Home made Mango roll ups:
mango roll ups

You know when its time to say good bye to mangoes. You can make this at home to store them for longer time — https://www.justataste.com/healthy-homemade-mango-fruit-roll-ups-recipe/

2. Egg free mango loaf cake

Egg less mango loaf cake

Who would have thought you can marry these best of both world ingredients and make an amazing cake! I would suggest using alphonso mango pulp. This author is a genius.

3. Mango Basundi

This picture looks so good I wanna eat it! This author has a whole list of mango recipes and I found this my favorite. Again the sweeter the mango, better the outcome for this recipe.

4. Mango Kadhi

This is for those not so ripe sour mangoes. Its a savory recipe very famous in Eastern part of India. I just love it! Get the recipe here.

5. Kesar Mango Kulfi

This recipe combined my favorite things of summer in India — mangoes and anything cold. Literally anything cold. The summers are so brutal and rumor has it mangoes make your body heat up even more. But who cares!

6. Mango Pickle

How can we talk about mango recipes and not talk about mango pickle. Thats a blasphemy! Every household has a secret to this ancient process of pickle making! I have mine delivered every year from my mom’s kitchen. Jealous much?

7. Mango Panna Cotta

You wanna get fancy this summer, then get fancy no one is stopping you! After all its summer and I think people are open to experimentation in summer or at least I am!

8. Mango Sorbet

Try this healthy and hearty recipe to beat the summer heat! This recipe definitely looks easy to follow and make at home. Doesn’t require whole lot of ingredients. This goes to my to do list. :)

9. Mango Kesar (semolina pudding)

Semolina pudding is an Indian dessert every mom makes as a quick and easy offering to God. This mango take on traditional recipe is a total thumbs up!

10. Mango Puri

When you can’t get enough of puri’s(unleavened deep fried Indian bread) add mango to it. This is a new take on puri’s by Tarla Dalal that will leave everyone eating the puri speechless. :)

11. Eggless mango souffle

I am ready to unfriend anyone who will say no to souffle. I mean seriously! Try this another mango recipe by Tarla Dalal again. This will definitely leave you dreaming of mangos rest of your summer nights.

--

--