Idli Fries

Idly Fries

Indian Gastronomy
Indian Gastronomy
Published in
2 min readDec 9, 2016

--

Do you have a day old idlis that you don’t want to throw and you don’t want to eat. Try out this super easy recipe that will transform your old, hard idlis to everyone’s favorite snack time. Trust me they won’t disappoint you! My favorite time to eat these is when it is raining outside and I am sitting by the window staring at the rain like I’ve got nothing else to do.

Got idli? Upcycle your old idlies with this simple snack recipe! Trust me it tastes ah-mazing! Like, share and comment if you like it. :)

All you need for this recipe are a day old idlis. If you want to know what they are or how to make them, check out this easy recipe. I found that its better when they are out in the fridge for a long time or in the freezer for some time. This will help in keeping them intact while frying in the oil.

  1. Cut the old idlis to straight pieces.
  2. Take oil enough to shallow fry the idlis. This will not deep fry them but enough to roast them. For four idlies I took 8 tablespoons of oil.
  3. Now add the cut idlis one by one and let them stay till they are brown both the sides.
  4. Now top it off with some chaat masala/pav bhaji masala.
  5. For the side I love the mint chutney mixed with curd/yogurt. I think mint by itself is very over powering but add a spoon of mint chutney to 2 table spoons of curd/yogurt. This will make it taste amazing.
  6. I kept things simple with off the shelf mint chutney and ketchup. After all this is a snack!

Its as simple as that. Try them out and let me know how it went!

--

--