4 Steps to End Negative Habitual Thinking

Emmaly Beck
Thoughts And Ideas
Published in
4 min readJun 8, 2017

--

I’ve been going through a spiritual awakening. I am remembering my own power and realizing how liberating it is to know that I can manifest anything I want because my thoughts create my reality.

But one morning I woke up and realized: something was still wrong. Why wasn’t I waking up excited in the morning, even after my awakening? Why wasn’t I springing out of bed with excitement? If this is truly an awakening of my own power and I know what makes me happy, then why am still thinking the same things?

That’s when I realized: it’s habitual.

Here’s the thing. Our brain is focused on being efficient. It wants to be on autopilot most of the time. This is great for surviving, and horrible if you’re trying to build a life on purpose.

How do we make that shift from autopilot to consciousness?

How do we step into our own wisdom and awareness when negativity is so ingrained in our psyche?

1. Detach from your thoughts

This is a zen concept. We are not our thoughts. Our brain thinks about 60,000 thoughts a day. We do not have to be responsible for every single one, or any of them if that is what we choose.

Our brains want to be efficient. It is neutral. It doesn’t care what it is thinking…

--

--

Emmaly Beck
Thoughts And Ideas

I write down-to-earth approaches on how to connect with your higher self. 🌚✨🌝 Enjoy my writing? Subscribe: https://upscri.be/bb0404/