5 Bitter Truths About Indian Marriages the West Won’t Believe

Yes, we are on the same planet.

Aravind Balakrishnan
Thoughts And Ideas

--

Photo by Khadija Yousaf on Unsplash

I held my breath as I watched the astrologer’s hands fiddle through the magic beads. My parents, drunk by the enormous gravity of the situation, looked at each other. I tried to remember the ‘deep breathe techniques’ to keep my raging heartbeat rate under check.

A few seconds from now, his hands would separate a certain number of beads, and that would pretty much decide if I can marry the girl I love!

You think I’m joking? Relationships are the last thing I kid about.

Welcome to India. And Welcome to the consulting room of an astrologer from a local village in the land of wonders.

The astrologer promptly checked my horoscope. He did his spiritual matchmaking calculations and blurted out the following words:

“This marriage shouldn’t happen.” That’s it.

Six years of painstaking brick by the brick erection of my relationship shot to hell with six words. My father and mother got up, having heard it from the best. I sat there, watching my dreams get shattered.

Three years down the lane, I am married to the same girl, albeit with a struggle that makes no sense to people from the 21st century.

--

--

Aravind Balakrishnan
Thoughts And Ideas

Introvert or Shy? Not sure. Bibliophile or Cine-buff? Both. Nethead or Story-writer? Still dunno. All I know is I want to write to live and I live to write.