Adoption Is Not An Alternative To Abortion

Stop weaponizing adoptees for political gain

Mindy Stern
Thoughts And Ideas

--

gelatida via Shutterstock

Have you ever vented to a friend about how your parents’ divorce fucked you up, and the friend said something like, “at least you have a roof over your head” or “no one else I know is fucked up from divorce?”

Probably not.

Most people understand why adults divorce, and that even when it’s for the best, there can be negative, unintended consequences for their children. Some people stay together to avoid that. Some people split up despite that. Some divorces fuck the kids up. Some don’t.

Society recognizes the pain, nuance, and ambiguity inherent in ending a marriage and breaking up a family. Do people ask the angry kids if they’d prefer their parents killed them?

Yikes, right? I know. I’m asked it all the time.

My mother, a well-educated, sophisticated 23-year-old debutante, did not know she was pregnant when one freezing January day in 1968, an ambulance rushed her to New York Hospital. Agonizing, debilitating stomach pains made her think she was dying. After eleven hours of labor, metal forceps pulled me out.

I spent my first three weeks of life in the NICU because of an eye infection, chlamydia contracted through the birth canal. For the next…

--

--