Applying Costco’s Return Policy to Everything in Life

What if everything was that easy?

Keith Dias
Thoughts And Ideas

--

Photo, free use via Wikipedia Commons

If Disney World is really the most magical place on earth, it should be closely followed by the Customer Service counter at Costco.

Certainly both places make dreams come true. In the case of Costco, the magic is found in their ridiculously lenient return policy.

In the Customer Service queue with me last week was a senior citizen with a partially eaten lasagna, a 40-something lady with last year’s model of patio string lights, and a Gen-Z guy with a not so gently used pair of jogging pants.

Unlike other stores, Costco will seemingly take back anything. Like a retail priest, they will easily forgive all your purchasing sins.

I was in the Returns line that day because I committed the greatest crime anyone can ever commit in their home office: I had attempted to clear a printer jam by pulling on the slim piece of paper that was wedged underneath one of the rollers.

That paper subsequently tore right off in my bony fingers, and the rest of the 8.5 x 11 parchment remained stuck somewhere inside the guts of the machine.

Rather than correctly opening up the back of the machine, like the manual says, my lazy ass thought it would be faster to just yank…

--

--

Keith Dias
Thoughts And Ideas

Travel geek. Productivity nerd. Husband, father, son, brother, friend, joker. I once met Stevie Wonder. I’ve played competitive ball hockey for 30 years.