Contemplating One of the Most Powerful Quotes of All Time

“When nobody wakes you up in the morning and when nobody waits for you at night and when you can do whatever you want. What do you call it, freedom or loneliness?” — Charles Bukowski

Aziz Patrawala
Thoughts And Ideas
2 min readNov 23, 2021

--

Photo by Juan Rumimpunu on Unsplash

Have you ever felt lonely, or free?

Was it a mix of both? I know I have definitely felt both, and to be honest I love freedom but don't like loneliness. I want to defy the odds, but I don't want to be lonely doing it.

What's your stance?

Let's talk about freedom. What is needed to get to the point of freedom? What happens when you reach freedom? Do you stop working and sit around all day? Will you actually ever stop, or just set a bigger goal once you achieve your current goal?

A sense of purpose is what drives us in life, and we all need one.

Contemplate this: Do you want to excel at one thing? Or do you want to have a well-balanced life.

Is loneliness a side effect of what you want? It may be. Remember, there are only 24 hours in a day and we all die eventually.

Do you like to be alone? Do you enjoy a ton of human interaction? Or is going to the store a couple of times a week and a couple walks around the neighborhood enough for you?

What's high up on your value chain?

Reading that quote made me contemplate life and what I am doing in life. I hope you reflect on it and find out truly what it is you want in and from life.

Cheers!

Thanks for reading my article, I hope you enjoyed reading it and found it helpful. if you did be sure to give the article a clap and follow me as doing so helps me grow as a writer and share my work with more people which in return helps more people.

Like what you are reading? Consider upgrading and becoming a Medium Member so you can view unlimited stories from me and many other writers. Using the link above to buy your membership provides no extra cost to you and supports me as I get a portion of the membership fee.

--

--

Aziz Patrawala
Thoughts And Ideas

Empowering you to have success, but also happiness and fulfillment