Cooking: I Heart My Crockpot!

Louise Peacock
Thoughts And Ideas
Published in
3 min readNov 25, 2017
Chocolate cake baked in a special cake baking tin in a crock pot. Photo by Louise Peacock

Some people call them Crock pots others refer to them as Slow cookers. I call them a life-saver!

You do have to be careful about cooking cabbage, however. The first time I tried cooking cabbage in the Crock pot, I failed to add enough water and it dried up and actually burned. The smell was horrible and stunk up the house for weeks!

My first Crock Pot! Photo by Louise Peacock

Learning from that first error, I figured out how to be efficient with my Crock. They actually supplied a baking insert for it (much like a steamer in looks) and I began to experiment with their recipes.

Crock pot cake baking tins. Photo by Louise Peacock
Maple Pecan cake, done in the crock baking tin.

I found that for a working stiff, being able to prepare a stew the night before and turn it on in the morning was a great way to come home to a ready-made dinner.

I added another Crock to my collection. Now I could make soup and stew or dessert at the same time.

Over the years I decided that I needed a bigger pot and so bought a larger model. Now I could cook roasts, chicken and spareribs using a small baking rack.

On the left, my first large Crockpot, on the right, a newer larger crock with fancy dials. Photos by Louise Peacock
Chicken legs roasted on a rack in the larger crockpot, along with a sweet potato. Photos by Louise Peacock

Using a raised rack for the meat changed the taste of the dish — the meat actually browned and did not become yet another stew.

Years after my first Crock, during our recent kitchen reno, I continued to put the later versions to good use. Perfect for reheating without drying out. Great to make Chili, by the way!

Chili! Photo by Louise Peacock

--

--

Louise Peacock
Thoughts And Ideas

Louise Peacock is a writer, garden designer, Reiki practitioner, singer-songwriter & animal activist. Favorite insult “Eat cake & choke” On Medium since 2016.