Don’t Aspire For More

Average is Best

Christy McNally
Thoughts And Ideas
3 min readOct 29, 2020

--

Photo by Nycolle Suabya from Pexels

Every day, millions of people are awoken by the piercing sound of an alarm clock. They climb out of bed, get dressed and make their commute to work. The workplace isn’t somewhere that they enjoy, but neither does it make them heartbreakingly sad.

They do this, five days a week between the hours of 9 AM and 5 PM. Monday to Friday they go home and enjoy their evenings and care for their loved ones. On the weekends these people unwind and spend time with their families. Oftentimes, this is work too but they find joy in it.

I do not envy celebrities, I do not envy the rich. I envy the so-called mediocre. The people who truly enjoy their lot in life. The people who are not too desperate for more.

So Why Am I Not One Of Them?

In essence, I truly wish I could belong to this group. It’s not mediocrity that I lack, I have that in abundance.

But the satisfaction with my place in life? That's something that has alluded me for all my years on this earth, I suspect it’s something that will continue to escape my grasp.

You may see me describing others as mediocre or average as an insult, pure arrogance perhaps. I can assure you that that’s not intentional. I certainly have no feelings of superiority over those who can live a normal 9 to 5 lifestyle. I look upon it with the green eyes of a monster.

I’m often viewed as lazy. Frankly, I am lazy. I will only do things that bring me joy. Writing provides that for me, but I am by no means talented enough to make it my career.

Instead, I live a life of poverty, though more comfortably than many unfortunate souls. I live life at the expense of others. I live a lonely life and I know that I will continue to do so.

I have found some solace in accepting that. As selfish as it is to choose a life of beggary, I find some strange satisfaction in it. I live, now, as I want to. I don’t have all the possessions I want. I find myself alone more often than not but in my acceptance of my desires, I don’t feel suicidal anymore. That’s more than I deserve to be able to ask for.

I will continue to long for the materialistic things in this world and I shall continue to wish for love but I know, now, the truth. When I achieve my desires, I shall no longer crave those things and so, I am cursed to always want more.

Brandon Flowers once wrote ‘There are twisted days that I take comfort because I’m not the only one.’ These days are numerous for me and I know that there is a good chance that this very same sentiment has drawn you to this article. So reach out to me if you wish. I enjoy talking to new people.

Congratulations

To those that have found love and a sense of happiness in the mundane, I say congratulations. I beg you to not look on my bitterness at your success too harshly and I ask you to try not to judge my idleness with too much haste.

You may not have all the materialistic items that you want, but you have found what you need.

More importantly, though, I implore you to keep enjoying life with every fibre of your being. Relish in the little things and don’t fall victim to craving more.

That way lies misery.

--

--

Christy McNally
Thoughts And Ideas

A simple man that hopes to share his writing journey with you.