How to Increase Your Self-Confidence & Trust in Yourself

Emmaly Beck
Thoughts And Ideas
Published in
7 min readJul 12, 2017

--

There was a time when I didn’t know what self-confidence was. But I didn’t know that I didn’t know what self-confidence was. I thought being awkward, anxious and unsure of myself was totally normal.

Now that I’m in a new stage of my life (recent college grad, heyo), I’ve been thinking about confidence a lot lately. The truth is that most of us don’t have self-confidence because we lack self-awareness. We aren’t sure how to manage our thoughts and emotions, so we constantly feel like our lives are out of our control.

Self-confidence is a state of being in which the thoughts you have create a belief in yourself and your capabilities.

The foundation of this belief is trust. Cultivating a relationship of trust with yourself is one of the most important things you can do.

One of the ways I’ve done this is by writing every day. This was a baby step that built a lot of momentum for me. First, I focused on developing my voice. When I was familiar with my voice, I published on Medium. Now that I have gained a following, I work hard to publish high quality content as frequently as possible. All of these steps have increased my self-confidence because I know I will show up for myself.

--

--

Emmaly Beck
Thoughts And Ideas

I write down-to-earth approaches on how to connect with your higher self. 🌚✨🌝 Enjoy my writing? Subscribe: https://upscri.be/bb0404/