How to overcome depression anxiety and overthinking given by parents

Tonarsystem
Thoughts And Ideas
Published in
4 min readOct 15, 2021

Maybe you’re a young adult still living at home or maybe, like me, you’ve been on your own for some time. Maybe you’ve spent your childhood watching your mother or father struggle with anxiety, depression or obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD).Or even you are suffering from mental tension or depression or anxiety. Before we start let me tell you straight forward my parents are failure and they made my life hell.

In this article we will discuss what is being like suffering from depression anxiety or tension in your childhood because of your family or parents.

What can be the cause of it. How it can affect your health. How to overcome such things.

What is being like to suffer from depression

  • Sadness of mood
  • Not enjoying activities that were previously enjoyable e.g. going for outings, watching a cricket match, shopping, doing household chores
  • Lethargy/Laziness
  • Concentration difficulties
  • Forgetfulness
  • Irritability/Change in behavior
  • Crying Spells
  • Increase or decrease in sleep
  • Increase or decrease in appetite
  • Excessive thoughts that a person is unable to control
  • Thoughts of dying/ Suicidal attempts
  • Guilt

In my case I almost suffered from depression and hypertension everyday because of my parents. My step mother who was always jealous from my success ,my happiness she had always reasons to blame me and my brother for something. She was so smart to disturb me everyday and she will act like she didn't said anything to me. She always tortured me , tonted my for everything and never showed any care to me.

For the matter of time I was earning 35k per month out of which I was paying 15k emi per month for home loan to them. There after I was giving expenses of light bill, mobile recharge, their health insurance, car insurance, etc.

But all she could say was what you did for me . I never valued her and then my dad also supported her and started demanding money occasionally every month from me.

How depression/anxiety/tension affected me and my health:

This has affected my mental health so badly that I suffered from multiple disease in a year and lost 10kg weight and my platelets started reducing and I am now underweight weak guy. I lost my job because of not able to give my work time to time so I got fired but in all this I never got consolidation from my parents.

I was not able to sleep at nights . I was crying for no reason at all. I was feeling like I should commit suscide but again fear of painful death. I felt like I am the most unlucky guy that's why god killed my mother when I was child.

How to overcome depression/anxiety/tension:

Spend time with your loved one/friends

The above technic for sure will help you. You will feel loved and that's what can heal depression and anxiety. Trust me or not take my words the only way your depression and anxiety can go away is you being loved by surrounding or you get environment of people who don't hate you and you feel happy with them

Find a distraction

It can be hard to start something new when you’re overwhelmed by your thoughts. If finding a distraction feels daunting, try setting aside a small chunk of time — say, 30 minutes — every other day. Use this time to either explore potential distractions or dabble in existing ones.

Take a deep breath

  1. Find a comfortable place to sit and relax your neck and shoulders.
  2. Place one hand over your heart and the other across your belly.
  3. Inhale and exhale through your nose, paying attention to how your chest and stomach move as you breathe.

Meditate

Developing a regular meditation practice is an evidence-backed way to help clear your mind of nervous chatter by turning your attention inward.

Do something nice for someone else

In my case I was feeding poor’s and street dogs and cow and I was feeling like I am being so useful to them. This gave me a different kind of happiness.

Acknowledge your successes

When you’re in the midst of overthinking, stop and take out your notebook or your favorite note-taking app on your phone. Jot down five things that have gone right over the past week and your role in them.

These don’t need to be huge accomplishments. Maybe you stuck to your coffee budget this week or cleaned out your car. When you look at it on paper or on-screen, you might be surprised at how these little things add up.

Consider other viewpoints

Sometimes, quieting your thoughts requires stepping outside of your usual perspective. How you see the world is shaped by your life experiences, values, and assumptions. Imagining things from a different point of view can help you work through some of the noise.

Practice self-compassion

Here are some ways to get you started:

  • Take note of a stressful thought.
  • Pay attention to the emotions and bodily responses that arise.
  • Acknowledge that your feelings are true for you in the moment.
  • Adopt a phrase that speaks to you, such as “May I accept myself as I am” or “I am enough.”

Embrace your fears

Some things will always be out of your control. Learning how to accept this can go a long way toward curbing overthinking.

Of course, this is easier said than done, and it won’t happen overnight. But look for small opportunities where you can confront the situations you frequently worry about. Maybe it’s standing up to a bossy co-worker or taking that solo day trip you’ve been dreaming of.

Conclusion:

In all and all depression is something which will kill you everyday every minute and every second. If you want to fight it try to get some moral support but make sure at the end of the day you are alone to fight it. Try to celebrate your success and try to give reasons to yourself to become happy.
If you reached this line please show me love and support morally and leave thumbs up. You can reach me out here

Instagram

GitHub

LinkedIn

--

--