Joan Crawford Wrote Me Back

Suzy Soro
Thoughts And Ideas
Published in
2 min readApr 25, 2017

I saw a letter from Joan Crawford in a shop window in San Francisco. I’d moved there to start my acting career, which was dumb because there was no show business there. I’m not famous and I blame San Francisco.

On a whim, I wrote Joan a letter and this is the response I received:

Having just finished watching the 8 part FX series Feud, I understand why she wrote me back. She took her stardom seriously. I’ve received exactly three fan letters in my life, two were from my father, and I didn’t even write him back and now he’s dead. I’m pretty sure that wasn’t my fault.

I was not a fan at the time I wrote Miss Crawford. I’m still not a fan of either her or Bette Davis. I loved Bette in All About Eve and Joan in Mildred Pierce but that’s it.

Dear Suzy:

You’re an idiot.

~Every gay man in North America

*SEND*

Joan was famous for her little blue notes as evidenced here. I dragged that letter from San Francisco to Paris to New York, where I finally had it framed in a blue that matched her notes. The marks you see on the underside of her letter are from when I scotch-taped it to my wall in my apartment in San Francisco that had no show business and cost me my career.

Dear Suzy:

SCOTCH TAPE??*!!!**?

~Every gay man in North America

*SEND*

Love her or not, Joan was beautiful. Even I, blinded by jealousy, can see that.

“Sign up for my newsletter here https://upscri.be/43940b/ and click the little green heart before you go.”

--

--

Suzy Soro
Thoughts And Ideas

Top writer in humor and complaining. ACTOR: Seinfeld, Curb Your Enthusiasm. AUTHOR: Mommy Tried to Kill Me, Celebrity Stalker.