Lifting Weights Must Be Increasing Your Focus

Here’s why I think so

Nilesh Dilip Bane
Thoughts And Ideas
2 min readApr 28, 2022

--

Photo by Bastien Plu on Unsplash

I tend to shift attention to people around and exchange greetings with friends and all those whom I know. I also tend to give way to thoughts like ‘did I turn on my fitness watch’ or ‘the t-shirt I am wearing isn’t stretchable enough and I should have worn during legs day’. At times, finding answers to some pending work or thinking something as casual as ‘what I’ll be doing next after the gym’.

I have noticed that all of this is not bad unless I give way to these thoughts while I am with weights in between my reps. The moment I let my mind divert even for a split second while in my reps, I lose focus and have to give up early.

One day recently, I unintentionally closed my eyes during my reps and found a better focus and undoubtedly better outcome.

From that day onwards, I set a goal to get to this focus even with my eyes open. I have known how a good workout feels and decided to give my workouts its deserved importance, to further help not let my mind wander.

This I believe would improve my concentration as a whole and not just during my reps.

I hope this article helps! Please feel free to post your thoughts, feedback and experiences in the comments section below. Thank you for reading!

If you liked this article you may also enjoy my other articles below on fitness and cycling

--

--

Nilesh Dilip Bane
Thoughts And Ideas

Positive perception! Strives for self-improvement & being useful, being fit unexceptionally in daily hustle, Ordinary cyclist, loves reading, coffee, cricket