TALE BEHIND THE TALE

Amba — A short story from Mahabharata

Aaranya Swaminathan
Thoughts And Ideas
4 min readJul 12, 2020

--

Ambika and Ambalika giggled. I shot them an exasperated look. They giggled some more, much to the dismay of their hairdresser. Yes, we were being made up. Made up for what? Why for our big day, our swayamvar of course!

“Done, my lady”, said my handmaid. I inclined my head and stood up, careful not to crinkle my wedding saree. I gazed at my reflection in the mirror. My slender form and dark, cascading hair complimented well with my make over. No one could fault my looks. Beside me, Ambika and Ambalika gasped. “Amba, look at yourself!”, they shrieked. “Shalva is going to swoon!” I mock glared at them. Some things never change.

My mother burst in and gushed about how pretty we looked and ordered us to hurry along as the Princes and Kings had arrived. With my heart racing, I proceeded towards the wedding hall, followed by my mother and sisters. As I walked, my eyes traced the familiar pillars and paintings of my palace. With an aching heart, I realized that this was the last time that I get to see them. I shook my head to get rid of unpleasant thoughts. Today, I wanted to focus only on the happiness that lay ahead.

The doors of the hall opened.Taking a deep breath, I stepped into the hall. My eyes took in the sheer vastness of the hall and it’s magnificent beauty. My sisters looked nervous but I shot them an encouraging smile. My father, King Kashya, introduced us proudly to the gaping Kings and Princes. Swallowing a smirk, we reached our assigned seats. My eyes immediately sought my love, King Shalva. I spotted him amongst the mass of assembled royalty and gave him a huge smile. He answered back with a grin and a wink. Ambika caught our little exchange and smirked while I fought my blush. Father called us forward to collect our garlands in order to choose our grooms. I took an eager step forward. “My lord!”, a guard frantically burst in. “Bhishma, of Hastinapur has arrived!” Bhishma? I wondered what he came here for. I caught my sisters wearing similar confused looks and shrugged.

Bhishma stepped forward to bow before my father. “Your majesty”, he boomed, “My brother, Vichitravirya, is to soon ascend the throne and I’ve come to secure your three daughters as his brides”.

I felt like someone had thrown a bucket of cold water over me. Marriage to the impending king of Hastinapur? Doesn’t this man know that it is the bride who chooses her groom in a swayamvar? Does he think that he could just waltz in and secure the Princesses of Kashi? Oh, the arrogance! I was confident that my father wouldn’t do such injustice to us. One look at him and my heart sank. He sat there, his face a mask of stone. Even our potential suitors exchanged uneasy looks. Nervousness crept in. Surely…?

Cling! Shalva had drawn his sword. I felt a smug smile creep up my face. Nothing bad was going to happen to us. With a battle cry, Shalva charged forward while Bhishma just stood there unfazed. I frowned. Wasn’t he going to attack? When Shalva came close enough for contact, Bhishma calmly gripped his wrist and with one twist, forced Shalva to drop his sword. Before I could even blink, Bhishma punched Shalva in the ribs, sending him sprawling across the floor where he remained motionless.

Stunned silence prevailed. I was disgusted by how easily Shalva got overpowered and was immediately mortified of my own thoughts. Surely a woman was not to harbour such ill feelings for the man she loved? Bhishma once again resumed his walk towards us and gestured for us to follow him.

Numbness took over my body. I accepted the inevitable — the three Princesses of Kashi were to be abducted and no one was going to do anything about it. But if Bhishma thought that I wasn’t going to do anything about it, he was sadly mistaken. With that thought in mind, I followed Bhishma without protest, my head held high. I didn’t spare a glance towards my unworthy father or my defeated lover. Neither did I cry like my sisters. What was the point?

As I entered the chariot, I chanced a glimpse at the proud, unrelenting back of my kidnapper. Something hot unfurled in my chest and with a jolt, I realized that this is how pure hatred felt like. I wanted to ruin the life of this man, just like how he ruined mine. I wanted him to feel the same helplessness and agony that I feel now. Either he was going to fix my life or pay for his crime. I felt a small smile play at my lips at the thought of vengeance. I’m going to cause you a lot of trouble Bhishma. You are going to be sorry that you ever messed with Amba. I promise.

--

--

Aaranya Swaminathan
Thoughts And Ideas

Strong believer of the (self made) saying "A book a day keeps reality away".