The Book That Taught Me The Basics Of Philosophy

There are only a few books that I, a forever student, normally go back every so often. The book which the following essay is based on is one such book. For me, it played the role of a guidebook to find my way around philosophy.

Darshi A.
Thoughts And Ideas

--

The photo of the book “Philosophy”
A photo of the book “Philosophy” (Photo by authour)

My Bridge to Philosophy

My formal introduction to Western philosophy took the form of an adorable little book written for the people dabbling in the subject for the first time. Obviously, I, then a young school-leaver, didn’t adhere to one of the prerequisites recommended in the book that philosophy should be ‘the climax of the ladder of education’. Anyhow, my interest was not to become a philosopher, but to appease my curiosity about philosophy. After a bit of haphazard reading, it dawned on me to find an introduction to philosophy to meaningfully learn the subject. Thus, I ended up buying the cheapest book, in that section of the bookstore, which I could afford. It had nothing to do with this book that I never became a philosopher.

After so many years and so many books on various philosophies and philosophers, I still cherish occasionally reading the book which kindled my interest in, and my zest for, philosophy. I bought…

--

--

Darshi A.
Thoughts And Ideas

An avid reader who writes on science, religion, philosophy, and anthropology! Thank you for following! Appreciated!