The Demise of the Brand Behind Ivanka Trump

This controversial fashion brand had no chance of survival

Anita Durairaj
Thoughts And Ideas

--

Photo by Monica Silva on Unsplash

A few years ago, I stopped by a Tuesday Morning store to buy some knick-knacks for my home. As I was perusing the aisles, I came across a bin of “for sale” items.

My eyes were immediately drawn towards a bright green patent handbag. I had always loved handbags and I already had a small collection so I had every incentive to purchase the bag.

I picked up the bag and was surprised to see a price tag of $40. I had thought the bag was more expensive.It had actually been marked down from $120 to $40. I was even more surprised when I glanced down at the brand label to see the name Ivanka Trump.

What was an Ivanka Trump handbag doing in the sale bin of a discount and off-price retailer store like Tuesday Morning?

As a connoisseur of handbags, I was naturally curious and decided to find out more about the brand that was Ivanka Trump.

The Quality of the Brand

The Ivanka Trump fashion company first launched with a shoe and handbag collection in 2010 before it moved into the apparel business. The brand was meant to intersect the line between budget and luxury.

--

--