The loving separation

krishna jena
Thoughts And Ideas
Published in
2 min readApr 24, 2020

A Poem

Sitting alone in the night,

Under the open sky with only stars in sight,

My mind wonders about,

To the times I and you together spent .

As the cold wind blows gently against my face

My heart feels the pangs of separation,

Being filled with the remembrance of your addictive presence

I can still feel the lingering scent of your body’s fragrance.

I wish to describe how helpless I feel when I want to run to you

and clasp you close to my heart and talk to you my sweet heart.

Days have gone by restricting myself from talking with you,

sleepless nights I have spent thinking about you,

but this is the way of the harsh world,

to let go of someone you love because they cannot love you back.

Love is free so as it sets one free,

it is received freely as it is given,

the sweetness of love blossoms in freedom,

so is the flowering of two lovers soul into one another.

I ask myself in this gloomy night of my soul,

How can I bind myself to you when you feel not love for me,

My helplessness even makes my heart beg you for love,

But I remember beggars are not worthy of love….

Only Kings can love for their heart is ever overflowing with love,

They neither beg nor think of receiving love in love’s return.

But I do not want love from you,

if you do not love me,

I know that I can live without it,

But the love I have for you in my heart shall be my respite.

For my love is not conditional nor it demands love in return,

But it only arises out of the abundance of love dwelling in my heart.

But I shall not talk to you as I used to,

Nor I shall call nor message you,

For I know reminding myself to you makes you feel guilty and sad,

So I shall maintain my distance from you out of my love for you in my heart.

--

--