Where I Got My Sense Of Humor

Suzy Soro
Thoughts And Ideas
Published in
2 min readApr 12, 2017

After every show, there’s always one person who asks me that question. In the beginning of my career I had no idea how to answer since didn’t my sense of humor just come from me? Modest, over-achieving, genius me? Humble, fabulous, fashion-plated me? Outrageous, over-accessorized, well, you get the idea.

But over time, I’ve gathered enough irrefutable evidence to prove I was wrong. Here’s who I got it from:

My Dad, aka Colonel Sarcastic. The man had access to firearms.
Dad trying to strangle his 4th wife with his eyes closed. Surprisingly, he failed.
His 75th surprise birthday. I was sure he wouldn’t get up when the belly dancer asked him to so I tossed back a hundred cocktails waiting for him to fall down. He didn’t, but later, I did. Shut up.
Dad wearing his fascinator, in case he got invited to a royal wedding in the UK.

No one supported my career more than my Dad. The first time he saw me do comedy, he was so nervous he had 5 bourbons in a row waiting for me to take the stage. And he wasn’t even drunk.

Neither of us remembered that night. But for much different reasons.

“Sign up for my newsletter here https://upscri.be/43940b/ and click the little green heart before you go.”

--

--

Suzy Soro
Thoughts And Ideas

Top writer in humor and complaining. ACTOR: Seinfeld, Curb Your Enthusiasm. AUTHOR: Mommy Tried to Kill Me, Celebrity Stalker.