Why Kindle Is the Most Underrated Gadget

Yes, it doesn’t smell like books but it’s awesome.

Shubham Goel
Thoughts And Ideas
4 min readAug 11, 2021

--

Yesterday, I convinced my friend who is a sporadic reader to buy a kindle. Talking to him, I realized maybe I should write an article on the same.

So here I am!

We all know the positive impacts of reading still, only a handful of people pursue it. A few years ago I was one of them.

I always wanted to read books but had a poor vocabulary. Reading was a nightmare as I ended up spending more time with the dictionary instead of the book.

Eventually, I gave up the practice accepting it’s not meant for me.

Then one day I bought a Kindle on a whim. Hands down it has been the best investment I have made in my life. From a person who read 4 books in 20 years of his life, I went on to read 100 books in the last 5.

Believe me, I am a big critic of technology however, Kindle turned out to be an exception. Me vouching for it is a big thing.

Kindle has a plethora of cool features that no one is talking about. I am baffled why doesn’t Amazon advertise these qualities. But worry not I will take the onus and do it for them.

Kindle receives unfair criticism from hardcopy book worms. I will also try to make some rational arguments against them.

So let's begin,

Unlimited Books

If you read physical books, you know the pain of carrying multiple books especially while commuting or on vacations.

Practically one can carry infinite books in a Kindle, how cool is that?

I assume all my hardcopy fans will unwillingly agree to this.

Instant Delivery

Another killer feature of Kindle is instant delivery. You want a book, you buy one, and boom it loads on the device.

In the case of a physical book, you either go to a store or order online. Online delivery may take days.

During the pandemic, my friends struggled to acquire new books due to lockdown restrictions.

Inbuilt Dictionary

This is the sole reason I bought a Kindle.

When you encounter an unknown word(which happens with me often), you can long-press and the meaning will be displayed.

It also searches online to find any relevant information. So you can easily understand references to famous people or events.

Vocabulary Builder

This is an extension of the inbuilt dictionary.

There is a dedicated vocabulary builder feature. It has the history of all the words you search. There are also have flashcards for each word.

In all, it is a great way to master new words.

No Need of Bookmarks

I always lose my bookmarks while reading books. LOL.

Kindle keeps track of the last page you read. It’s super easy to pick up from where you left. This comes in handy if you devour multiple titles at a time.

X-Ray

Another awesome feature of Kindle is X-Ray.

I assume none of you might have heard about this. With X-Ray, you can get the history or context of any character in the book.

Suppose you are reading a book after a pause or the book has multiple characters. It is easy to confuse one character with another. Plus it becomes irritating(also embarrassing) when you are halfway through the book, and struggle to remember who was who.

X-Ray works like a charm.

Goodreads

The next feature is called Goodreads. Though anyone can make a Goodreads account, if you use a kindle all your book notes and highlights get synced with Goodreads.

One can just open Goodreads to read or share them.

I love it!

Read on Multiple Devices

You don’t need to carry a kindle everywhere. You can download the Kindle app on a smartphone or tablet.

The book updates sync seamlessly across all devices.

At home, you read on Kindle. The next day while commuting you might continue with the same book on your smartphone.

It’s great for ad-hoc reading.

Read in the Dark

I assume this was a key feature during the advent of Kindle. It was a unique selling point.

Reading in the dark had been a major problem for many book lovers.

Kindle solved the issue by adding inbuilt light.

Kindle uses black-and-white screen technology which is more relaxing on the eyes than the backlit LCD or OLED screen you’ll find on a phone. Some of the Kindle devices have a built-in light, but these are front lights that spray light up the screen rather than directly at your eyes from behind.

Now one can read even at night.

Cheap Books

Kindle books are usually cheaper than hardcopy editions due to obvious reasons. There are no printing costs involved.

Yes, a Kindle device is costlier than a book. But over the long run, it is a great investment.

Eventually, you can recover the extra money spent on buying Kindle by reading cheaper books.

Books Become Immortal

A printed book eventually degrades over time.

However, Kindle books are sort of immortal.

One can lose or misplace a hardcopy, but there is no such issue with a Kindle edition. Every purchase is synced with your account.

Final Words

I assume I made some sold points. When I began writing this, I didn’t know I’ll come up with these many.

The main motive of writing this was to encourage people to read, and how Kindle can help.

The secondary motive was to inform hardcopy bookworms that Kindle is indeed cool, and it receives lots of unfair criticism.

The only drawback of owning a Kindle is that you won’t end up with a cool bookshelf.

By the way, there are several Kindle models available in the market. I own an entry-level Kindle Paperwhite which costs around $79.99.

--

--

Shubham Goel
Thoughts And Ideas

25 | Driven by kindness & curiosity | Ex-Software Engineer | Writer | Bibliophile | Newsletter: soulletter.substack.com