Why Social Media is so Toxic

The reality of social media

S.A. Ozbourne
Thoughts And Ideas

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

When my English teacher said, “Don’t judge a book by its cover” I believed her. We were taught that true quality is found not on the surface, but within.

That gave me hope because I knew I excel mentally. That is code for I am not very good looking

Knowing that people would love me and cherish me for my humor, personality, unique way of thinking and kindness made me feel good about myself despite being overweight, short, and average looking.

Of course, this was before the take over of the Internet and specifically social media in every aspect of life.

Sites like Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, and TikTok have pushed people to fight for views, likes, claps, and praise. The way to get noticed is not by just telling a story, but by making sure that the story is packaged in the newest, shiniest wrapping to appeal to the masses.

Photo by Loe Moshkovska from Pexels

Internet Famous

The overly filtered, fake, and doctored images of women in thongs doing yoga at exotic beach locations or perfectly tanned…

--

--

S.A. Ozbourne
Thoughts And Ideas

Canadian in Japan. Teacher, Crime writer, video editor, and pet lover. Follow my journey via my monthly newsletter: https://bit.ly/team-ozsome-subscribe