SINGAPORE

sabrina sain
Indians Around The World
1 min readFeb 24, 2017

“I’m a Jain. Jainism is an ancient religion from India, and we believe in no harm towards anything or anyone. For example, I’m a vegetarian, and I don’t eat root vegetables, as removing them from the ground can damage a variety of organisms. We acknowledge 24 gods, so we practice polytheism like in Hinduism.

I have a spiritual group in Singapore that hosts frequent Jain events and activities where we get to learn even more about ourselves and our culture. Being a part of such a tight knit community really helped me as a person.

In 2014, my guru (spiritual mentor) visited Singapore. We talked about how living abroad can sometimes make people feel disconnected. However, I realized then that my dedication and involvement with the Jain community makes it me feel like I am much closer to home.”

--

--