About Me

Matthew Wigginton Conway
Indicatrix
Published in
2 min readNov 26, 2016

I’m a transport geographer from California, currently living in Tempe, AZ and studying for my PhD in Geography, with a focus on urban transport, in the School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning at Arizona State University.

Until Summer 2017, I was as a Project Manager for Analysis at Conveyal, a transportation consulting firm, where I worked on accessibility planning. I worked with clients to evaluate the impacts of changes to their transit networks, and wrote software to create and evaluate public transportation scenarios.

Before joining Conveyal, I was a fellow in the Data Science for Social Good program at the University of Chicago. Here, I worked on a project to identify abandoned homes from administrative data, and to evaluate the effect of home abandonment on surrounding property values.

I received a bachelor’s degree in Geography from the University of California, Santa Barbara. I focused on transportation and quantitative/computational geography, and undertook several transportation research projects. Before that, I attended Foothill College.

I held several internships during college. I worked at OpenPlans, where I worked on the OpenTripPlanner project as well as cataloging transit data. I also interned at the San Francisco Municipal Transit Agency, where I worked in Service Planning and Transit Engineering.

I have teaching experience; I tutored English at UC Santa Barbara, and taught ESL at Foundry United Methodist Church.

I’m a musician; I play trombone, guitar, dulcimer, harmonica, and piano. My pronouns are he/him.

I can be reached at matt@indicatrix.org.

Unlisted

--

--

Matthew Wigginton Conway
Indicatrix

PhD student in Geography at Arizona State (focus on transportation). BA from UC Santa Barbara Geography.