Final Thoughts on Producing My Low Budget Feature Film

I still can’t decide whether I would have approached the whole project differently or not.

M. Olchawska
Indie Filmmaking School

--

Pawel Palcat on the set of “Anna & Modern Day Slavery”

FILM FESTIVALS AND FRUSTRATION THAT ARE IRREVOCABLY PART OF THIS PROCESS

As some of you probably know by now, film festivals are a costly part of the filmmaking business. I have submitted Anna to over 30 festivals and didn’t get accepted to even one.
Yes, it was depressing, frustrating and hard to take at times.

Some of the festivals were unprofessional enough not to even got back to me regarding the submission, which is disrespectful towards all the hardworking filmmakers and enjoying because filmmakers pay the submission fee so at least the “We regret…” email is in order.

My film is genuinely independent, festivals are supposed to be supportive when it comes to indie films and filmmakers, but in many instances, it’s all about politics and who is in your film. I guess the subject matter didn’t help either.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I still can’t decide whether I would have approached the whole project differently or not. The judgment on that is still open.
I know what I have and what I don’t have in…

--

--

M. Olchawska
Indie Filmmaking School

Award-Winning Filmmaker | Sustainability & FI Writer | Screenwriter | Content Producer & Creator | magdaolchawska.com ecotopiauniverse.com | schoolruns.eu