It’s Easy to Start Your Own Media Company

Making it work is the hard part

My daughter has been to her father’s office a handful of times now, and after every visit she asks me, “Why can’t we visit your office?”

I just can’t imagine caring this much about someone else’s business.

“It must…be a kick to get a top online job when you’re only years out of college, and work with writers who’ve worked for five times as long as you have while they’re now paid, at the most, bubkes. Hey, if I were 26, I’d want that job, since on the Seven Sisters it was unheard of to become a top editor before 40.”

In other words, I’m not getting rich at this, but I feel a lot more empowered by determining my own fate.

--

--

Nicole Davis
Indie Media Camp

Co-founder of Brooklyn's best email (@brooklynbased). Curator of Indie Media Camp and Screen Time Social.