Time By Zack’s Basement

Avniel Dravid
Indie Music Feedback
2 min readMay 11, 2020

--

https://soundcloud.com/hfs1983/time

As I’ve mentioned in past posts, I enjoy putting tracks on repeat while I write a review. It helps me to get into the track, almost like I am a co-producer. Obviously that’s not what’s going on, but it is a good way to put myself in the producer/artist’s shoes, since much of the production process is looping sections of a song. When I did this with Zack’s Basement’s “Time” I heard at least 3 genres (trip-hop, hip-hop, and lofi soul) blended beautifully to pull off a unique fusion sound.

Upon first listen, I thought this was going to be a nice chill trip-hop track — something Portisheadish. It’s definitely a nice chill track, but then Zack’s Basement starts to deploy lead vocals, in which you can hear the Philly soul influence, just enough to make it interesting, and not a complete throwback. The interluding quotes and samples are quite relevant to the song, giving the track an almost a Wu Tang GZA feel. Finally the drum and bass work sounds like a seamless combination of The Roots and The O’jays rhythm sections. Two classic Philly sounds interwoven to produce this very modern track.

Check out the rest of Zack’s Basement discography on SoundCloud.

Lyrics:

Peace all my life
want no troubles
want no strife

Ease into life
never worry
or compromise

Peace all my life
had no lover
had no wife

Easy to lie
never had to
sympathize

Peace all my life
never thought I’d
last the night

Ease your mind
never worry
bout the time

--

--