A Series of Events

Rohit Chatterjee
IndiTip
Published in
3 min readMar 10, 2017

Abrar and I work out of coffee shops. Sometimes this presents a challenge:

“For the second time this week”

The main reason I go to Marzipan is they have a high counter which I can stand at. It’s like a standing desk! So my back doesn’t hurt at the end of the day. Also the staff are nice, and it’s within walking distance from where I live.

Thursday Mar 2, around Noon

AB: “Write to so-and-so! He founded Company X they will definitely use us”.

So I connect with the guy on LinkedIn and send him a message on how he can use IndiTip. Two hours later I send Abrar this message:

Yes I know everyone’s busy and it’s customary to ignore sales pitches BUT BASIC COURTESY PEOPLE. I wasn’t impressed.

Also, this is why Abrar does our Sales.

Same day, 4:30pm

Another hour passes, I’m no longer feeling sorry for myself and my sh*tty people skills BECAUSE I FOUND:

Very excited

It’s a free service, by some Dutch guy (I think he’s Dutch I didn’t check). That was my win for the day.

Tuesday March 7

AB had been chasing a large customer — a high-quality news site. After a week or so:

:-|

Wednesday March 8

We have a Twitter account I should probably check the Twitter account when was the last time I even looked at it

[Timeline for @indi_tip…]

Ok boring

[Search for #inditip]

Oh…

It looks like people tweeted about us… up to TWO MONTHS AGO.

a. We had no idea

b. We consequently did not acknowledge their tweets

c. We probably came across as rude

Well that’s just great. I mean, this was just embarrassing (isn’t Twitter supposed to notify me? How can I shift the blame away from myself).

I quickly hearted the tweets. Am I supposed to reply? Retweet? I don’t know Twitter etiquette.

Ugh.

--

--