Just put it into your mouth and swallow

David Kim
Indonesia in the Flesh
2 min readJun 22, 2016

Like some other languages, the Indonesia language doesn’t have their own alphabet. They use our very own 26 letters. Like one of my friends Austin has stated, they love to wear clothes with english phrases or somewhat english phrases? All the taxis are spelled taksi. Wait, all the taksi are spelled taxi? no wait? darn….

But yeah, I’m with another intern here and some of the workers showed us this cool Indonesia joint for lunch. Funny story, so we forgot to split the checks but no one had enough cash, so I ended having to pay for the entire meal…. for 5 people…. I’m the intern…. Isn’t this supposed to happen a different way? I was reimbursed at a later time so I can’t actually complain.

Speaking of funny stories at restaurants, Kipp and I walked by this one place and the aroma that was emanating from the restaurant was heavenly so we walked in. One problem, the menu was in all Indonesian, and there were no prices for any of the selections. WHERE ARE THE PICTURES?!?!! As foreigners, we could’ve easily been asked to pay much more for our food than the menu suggested.. oh wait, there were no prices. After sitting there for about 15 minutes, Kipp and I just politely got out of our chairs and then bolted out the door.

All the restaurants seem to be advertised in English but once we walk in, there isn’t a single English speaking person in the room and so ordering food has kind of just been like “Yeah that’s what I’m ordering” *waiter walks off* “What did I just order?”

--

--