Wait.. 2 weeks? I got here yesterday

David Kim
Indonesia in the Flesh
2 min readJul 13, 2016

Hello everybody, Im back and I know you’re excited. Wow I can’t believe it has already been two weeks…

Indonesia is an interesting place I can tell you that much. What caught me off guard the most was the rain. After living in California nearly my whole life, I now slightly know what it feels like to live in Seattle. The rain doesn’t stop. The crowds must be crying… haha?… ok that was terrible

After our first week of work, Kipp and I decided to do a little bit of exploring. We started heading deep into the city and seeing what we could do on our own. After our first week of work which seemed infinity longer than the second week of work, we hit the town. Indonesia has so many malls it is unbelievable. This place is shopping galore. Every 15 minutes is a new kind of mall. Sometimes, different malls are right across the street from each other! How does that make sense? Oh and these are small malls either. Each one is a Westfield mall equivalent

Anyways, after exploring the city, Kipp and I came up on a sports complex and saw a huge soccer stadium where I am sure they hold giant events. Furthermore, we saw the most interesting buildings. These old broken down buildings which clearly look abandoned all have different types of courts set up. One building had 4 badminton courts all in a row while another had a basketball court.

Don’t you just love Kipp’s face? oh funny story about Kipp. My stomach is more used to unusual foods just because my culture naturally harvests that. On the other hand, Kipp’s stomach took a bullet. I do reward him for putting himself out there and trying all kinds of different foods but wow. I remember going to his room before work to see if he was ready and all I saw when he opened the door was a miserable man in his boxers and tank top. I asked if he was ok and he whiffed out a “ My stomach isn’t feeling so good so I will be late to work.” I expected him to be an hour late to work but he never showed. People in the office were all wondering where he was and they all laughed when I told them that his stomach wasn’t feeling good. Must be a common thing.

--

--