Become an indoor plant whisperer

Monti Willis
Indoor Farm life
Published in
3 min readJun 13, 2018

How can I control what I eat? How do I get the freshest herbs and vegetables? How can I be sure of the safety of vegetables that I eat? How do I become better about my contributions to the environment? How do I grow food in my home?

One of the questions above, if not all of them, are undoubtedly how you ended up here. I was asking all of those same questions too. I created this blog and interactive forum for those of you who crave the ability to grow fresh vegetables for you, your family and friends.

My name is Monti Willis, and I too was that person, and within two months I was eating food grown within my tiny Brooklyn apartment kitchen. IFL is for you to grow not only great tasting produce and herbs within your home, but to also to grow as an individual in your understandings of what’s possible today.

The Method To My Madness

Now, many of you may be asking why I’m explicitly teaching about indoor growing. The answer is simple. No one else is doing it! There are many people and resources on the internet that teach about outdoor growing in typical gardens (which I still promote), but not so many that focus on indoor farming. Indoor farming has been largely overlooked in comparison until recent technologies have made it more popular and affordable. In addition, indoor growing has had somewhat of a bad rep over the years.There are reasons for this.

  • Some think it’s too expensive.
  • Some think it’s not enough space.
  • Some think that plants can and should only be grown in soil.
  • Some think plants grown in any other place than under the sun is less quality.
  • Some people think that growing indoors mean you are growing cannabis.
  • Some think it’s flat-out impossible.

As an indoor grower, you will be faced with one of these remarks constantly until this becomes the norm and you will be educated enough with these resources and this community to correct their silly assumptions.

Understand, this is where the world is headed. Venture capitalists and entrepreneurs are investing in indoor farming because it has become so much more attainable and affordable. Just check out the following terms on Google and behold the wonders of indoor agriculture today.

  • Controlled Environment Agriculture
  • Vertical Farming
  • Urban Farming
  • Urban Agriculture

That’s what we are doing here. Maximizing space and using technology and modern techniques to grow food anywhere. (Even in space.)

Photo by Rose Elena on Unsplash

So Let’s Go For It

If you are here for the best tasting, produce you’ve ever had, welcome. There is no cost for the knowledge I share with you, but there is a responsibility to you to teach your families and friends of how to create their healthy lifestyle through indoor growing.

Always The Student, Sometimes The Teacher

I’m still learning something new. I keep my ear to the ground, and I need a place to dump it all. That’s where you guys come in. There will be something I’ve done wrong, but even in the mistake, there is a lesson. I plan to share all of it with you. I have started a slack community just for this.

Go to this link and sign up to be in the community.

--

--