manisha birdi
inequality
Published in
4 min readNov 27, 2016

--

My body, my property, my choice. Your body is one to the few things in this world we can actually say we own which is why we should be the only person deciding what is done to it. Prior to watching the Formation parody Anti-Abortion video, I always hated hearing people argue about abortion. It was a topic I obviously knew which i was standing on regarding, but I would never speak up or participate in debates. It was a topic that really worked me up inside. Being a young women, there’s a lot if things I want to do, but have restrictions. However, at the same time the world is an open garden of endless opportunities. My body is one of the few things I have control over.

When I was in freshman in high school my English teacher asked us to pick a debatable topic, pick which side we’re on, and write an essay explaining to the other side why we feel the way we do. I chose abortion and I remember I put my heart and soul into that paper. When I got my paper back from my teacher (who was a man) it was covered in big red letters with numerous notes. I wrote that I was pro-abortion and believe I was very convincing while respecting other decisions. My teacher won’t WRONG all over my first paragraph and comments like “Abortion is bad!” “Your point does not make sense” “This is terrible” “Inhumane” The comments were more offensive than giving me feedback on the writing. I got a F on the paper, which was a huge shocker to me because prior essays I was getting scores like A or B. This made me so angry and I kept thinking “Why do you even have anything to say? You’re a man, you would never get it”

Watching the InFormation video really got me worked up because it’s wrong for anyone, especially men, to tell me what decisions I can and cannot make about my body. If I don’t want to carry a baby, give birth to a baby, or take care of a baby I shouldn’t have to. We don’t have to go to work, go to college, or marry someone if we don’t want to. So why not add not make a family or be a mother in that list and tell people to shut up. I believe abortion shouldn’t even be the part we’re arguing about; we should be focused on just wearing the stupid condom or using birth control in this first place. Congressmen make it seem like we’re murders and say things like You should treat the death of an unborn child like you would any other human being. Corine Kumar talks about a world where politics are much more women-friendly and we get to speak up and have a say about topics related to ourselves.

Also, when I saw the video America Is A Bad Boyfriend. I thought of how women are put in a country where they have no say and thrown into this situations where we want to just deal with it, but when someone brings it up we remember how unfair things are. America will knock us up and then tell us to go take plan B. Then America won’t remember that we’re also paying for our tuition and maybe we can’t really afford to pay for a pill. America will make this pill expensive for us and shut down any easy access to it. Then when worse comes to worse America will make up deal with our “sins” and have a baby like it’s a bomb dropped on us. Then finally, America would laugh at us for being a single mother trying to do what we can.

I think now is a great time to storm off as America declares their love for us. We should hit them with the “That’s what you say every four years.” Because its true! Every four years we have to go through this again and worry about what’s next. Why don’t we just leave it alone and focus on what is more time worthy than what I should do with my life.

--

--