Just wear the condom

manisha birdi
inequality
Published in
4 min readNov 18, 2016

In my previous relationships I was always eventually asked by my partner why I was not on the pill. Well, I was on the pill for a period of time that I was not sexually active and in those three months I came to the clear conclusion that taking that everyday pill was not worth “amazing sex.” I blew up about 20 pounds and trust me it really made its way in there as an insecurity. Along with getting thicker everywhere I started breaking out, lashing out on my family, and growing scary amounts of facial hair. After dealing with all of this I said fuck it this pill is so not worth it.

Recently, I was sitting in my living room watching a talkshow hosted by four women called “The Real.” In the show, the mentioned that there was now birth control for men. The topic diverted to how many men are refusing to take the pill because of the side effects, one host mentioned that she’s okay with her husband refusing to take the hormonal birth control because she loves her husband and she would never want him to go through what she did. It was said that many men quit the male birth control study because they started experiencing side effects that many women using hormonal contraception currently experience. It was working until 20 men claimed they were experiencing this issues.

From this study, “Of these 20, 6 men discontinued only for changes in mood and 6 men discontinued for the following single reasons: acne, pain or panic at first injections, palpitations, hypertension, and erectile dysfunction.” The other eight men dropped out because of mood changes. The studies can be discontinued for these reasons, yet the market sells women birth control with the same exact symptoms? Sounds like a huge bias. I think the big issue here is that the responsibility pregnancy often falls on the women when it fact it takes two to tango. It’s always been a very controversial topic, especially with the possibility of planned parenthood being defunded. Women are definitely at a real stake when they decide to have unprotected sex, because not only do they have to think about STDs, but they have a sudden flashback of what if he didn’t pull out? I know almost all women who had sex had it almost immediately followed with the scaring pushing thought in the back of their head, “What if something went wrong and I’m somehow pregnant?” It’s a lot easier for women to immediately think this this right after having sex without a condom.

Whenever I hear of these situations I always happen to think in my head, “Well, why didn’t you make him wear a condom?” Sometimes I actually blurt that this question and my typical response is, “Oh he didn’t want to.” Well, then if he doesn’t respect your body enough to wrap it why would you let him have sex with you. What women often don’t understand is that we need to be firm and stick up for things like this because when it comes to this situation we are the ones in charge. There is even a foundation established to just get people to wear the damn condom. Sex isn’t the same for women as it is for men and it doesn’t help that women have a huge selection of various birth control options while men have less than five. How is that even fair?

Women have been troubled with the blessing of being able to be impregnated. Our health insurance, birth control, and emotional stress is all high than the average males. So guys, why not make it easier on us and either women up and take the birth control women have been taking for decades or just wear the condom. Cristabelle Sethna, recently spoke out on this topic “I think there’s inequality throughout medicine; gender inequality throughout health.” Men are in fact being treated differently than women when it comes to birth control. Women have been putting their bodies through more than enough to be told to “take the pill.” So we should think next time is birth control just a female’s responsibility or should you try and do your part by just simply wearing the condom?

--

--