Undocumented & Unafraid

The underserved realities of the undocumented community in a Trump nation.

Mona Figueroa
inequality
3 min readDec 1, 2016

--

I challenged myself as much as possible to write this article without devaluing or diminishing the voices of those who are undocumented. I am a citizen of the US with a large portion of my family and friends being undocumented and a partner who is undocumented as well. This is my perspective as it pertains to my circumstances and in no way shape or form am I trying to encourage or discourage the choices made in the undocumented community.

When the results came in on Tuesday my immediate thoughts were on the people I knew that were going to endure the hate that was encouraged by Trump. It has not even been a month since Trump was announced president and there has been a frightening spike in hate crimes across the nation. As I read the articles, view photos, and watch the videos of sick hate I find a large lump in my throat and fear stirring in my body. I am terrified for so many of my friends and those I don’t know across the nation that will be subject to hate and violence because of the color of their skin, their sexuality, their religion, and their birth place. I try to comfort my 7 and 9-year-old brothers who fear that our father will be sent back to Mexico. I hold my 19-year-old sister’s hand as we hold back tears fearing for our uncle and for our friends. This country was supposed to be the doorway to a better life for so many families that sacrificed life in their birth country. In an article published by The Nation, 28 students reflected on the election of Donald Trump, Karin Chan of UCLA stated, “I was betrayed by a country that promised my parents their daughter would have better opportunities.” I was hit in the gut with sadness how could this country betray so many beautiful people who call this country home. As this is all unfolding I can only imagine a fraction of the anxiety and fear that is upon the undocumented community. I sit in silence with my partner not knowing the right words to say to comfort them and questioning if there really is any right words to say.

As fear strikes many people I am amazed by the hope and courage that prevails in the undocumented community. The undocumented community have taken many social media platforms by storm using hash tags such as #Undocumented&Unafraid and #HereToStay. Many of them expressed that they will continue to organize and be a part of this country. Many grassroots organizations are offering services to those who are undocumented during this fragile time. Universities such as, UCLA, are offering attorneys and therapists free of charge to those who are undocumented to heal and to see what are their options legally. As I try to be an ally to the undocumented community I have been challenged on what I previously thought was a good option for those who are undocumented. I had high hopes that those who had come to America for a better life could receive citizenship in a much more efficient quick manner. The solution in my head was citizenship. However, I was challenged by those who are undocumented that the answers don’t lie in citizenship to a country but we must first question citizenship itself. We are requesting that those who want citizenship must reach a certain requirement and essentially assimilate to US culture. Is this citizenship being given genuine or is it another form of colonizing people of other nations. It is amazingly said by Carla Lonzi’s “Let’s Spit On Hegel” that “Equality is what is offered as legal rights to colonized people.” This equality through citizenship is acting as another means of controlling people and forcing them to reach a certain standard before they can be accepted. This land shouldn’t be something we own and control. I am certain one-day we can have a system that looks beyond citizenship and beyond borders.

--

--