O Seagull

Poem

Murli R
Inevitable Word
1 min readAug 10, 2021

--

O seagull of the oceans vast,
A winged majestic frame of supernal white,
Carry my dreams across the seas of twilight
To the shoreless haven of my reclusive Godhead.

He knighted my spirit with His sceptre high
In the Inconscient’s dungeons acrid of mortal death.
Am bare-souled and solitary in my leased eternity,
Cold of many a death and its cruel mirth.

O seagull of the mystic seas,
My thoughts rendered potent of thy immortal flight.
Carry my aspiration to the heart of a marvellous Grace,
Implore Her of my unbearable plight.

I saw a winged angel of thy similitude
With his wings clipped or confined to mortal flight.
He carried my dreams to a nether light,
A dull sun whose rays died before they flowered of twilight.

O seagull of the mid-oceans wide,
I am done with thy spirit doubles.
I aspire to wings of His transcendent flight,
Take me to His mid-heavens felicitous.

Am a many-souled, many-spirited, myriad wonder cast
In a frame of loose and self-changing limbs:
O seagull of His earthly spirit,
Assume in me wingless shapes of His many wonders.

O seagull of His infinite dreams,
Dream in me of the hues of His bliss boundless.

--

--

Murli R
Inevitable Word

Founder@goldenlatitude. Lover of Sanskrit, Latin, Greek & the English Metre. Mostly write on Sri Aurobindo’s Yoga, whom I earnestly follow within and without.