Going #offthegr1d

dmitry strakovsky
infinite industries
2 min readJun 4, 2017
Images from “True Americans” series by David Wischer with shots from the artist’s studio.

For a while I have been running the Infinite Industries Instagram account that features many of the amazing artists I have gotten to know over my (gasp! never thought I would say this) 20+ years in the wild world of art. The format is a grid of connected images that concentrates on a single artwork, by a single artist, accompanied by three to six images from her studio.

“America, Current Mood” by Natalie Baxter from the “Bloated Flags” series. Above, images from the artist’s studio.

I have found that when the story of the making of the work is told, I can interest a much wider audience in the content of the artwork, which is, frankly, one of the chief aims of the entire Infinite Industries undertaking. It has been a lot of fun talking to people from all sorts of professional backgrounds while armed with my trusty grid. People dig the images!

This summer, however, I decided to go into a bit of an art reporter mode and join the thousands in the pilgrimage to the holy sites of the Art World. The Whitney Biennial, Venice Biennale, Documenta (this one might be really brief) and Skulptur Projekte Münster. If I was a more dedicated acolyte, I would try to squeeze a couple of more fairs and shows in there, but, seriously, this is stretching my tolerance for multiple time zones and my family’s tolerance for globetrotting across obtuse installation spaces.

View from the roof of the Whitney Museum of American Art

All of this to say is that I will be breaking the grid and posting in irregular bursts from a couple of different places in US and Europe. Aaaaaa!!! This feels like sacrilege. If you are, however, one of the folks who likes the current format, fear not. In July, we are back to previously-scheduled grids with some more amazing artists and their studio spaces.

Please ❤ and share and [of course!] follow us on Instagram.

--

--

dmitry strakovsky
infinite industries

founding force behind Infinite Industries + artist, teacher, father, tech nerrd, fighter for responsible uses of media old and new