Non-attachment

Hold Love Gently

Monza Lui
infinite possibilities
2 min readJul 1, 2021

--

Listen to the article:

Nothing is permanent. Not the mountain outside my window. Not the tree on my front lawn. Not the earth. Not the sun. Neither would I nor those I love stay for too long. Neither would dire situations, nor the sweetest moments last. All of us came and will be gone. Wanting things to stay the same is wishful thinking. That’s why we shall live in the moment. Enjoy all there is now. Treasure our time with those we love right here right now. Because we don’t know when would be the last time we speak, we laugh, we share, together. And when things change, we allow them to change. We release ourselves from the pain of the changes. Because change is the only permanence.

The practice of non-attachment is to love knowing we will lose it, but we love wholeheartedly anyway. It is to hold that love gently, and allow it the freedom to change, transform, transcend, transmute. What we have is a bond. Our bond may stretch millions of miles, millions of years, millions of lifetimes. Our love might be different, our distance may alter. Still we gratefully accept the stretching and pulling, the flourishing and dying, the alleviating and descending.

When my most favorite cup breaks, I fill my heart with thanks, for it had brightened many of my days with its presence. When my love leaves, I fill my heart with best wishes, to accompany them to their next resting place.

The moon is full. The moon is crescent. What is unceasing is change.

--

--

Monza Lui
infinite possibilities

Entrepreneur, Computer scientist, Programming instructor, Dancer, Artist, Thinker, Dreamer, Tango teacher, and Mindfulness practitioner who beat depression.