Get started with ML in few hours

Aseem Bansal
towards-infinity
Published in
2 min readOct 14, 2018
Photo by Adi Goldstein on Unsplash

I get this question many times. So I decided to write out the answer here so I don’t have to prepare it every time. This is what I recommend

  • Search Google for “anaconda 3 python download”
  • Download the Python 3.x version of Anaconda and install it. If you search for installation instructions make sure to ignore miniconda. Install Anaconda.
  • Start a jupyter notebook from the new installation. On Unix-like environments you should be able to do it via running jupyter on your command line. On Windows I believe Anaconda installs a dashboard. Search online if you cannot start it.
  • Go through http://scikit-learn.org/stable/tutorial/basic/tutorial.html and make sure you timebox it to 2 hours. Do not follow all the links. Do not try to understand all the theory. Go ahead and make sure that you can run the code in your local machine.

This should be enough to get you started with ML. Can you say you know ML now? No. But you have things installed now and you can jump to a practical course now. My recommendation is fast ai’s Machine Learning course. There are other more famous courses out there. But for a more practical get hands-dirty introduction I suggest you go ahead and do this course.

Created by Aseem Bansal. If you want to know when I write more articles or send me a message click here for the details

--

--