My Star Wars: The Force Awakens Review

A short, spoiler free review written by a true nerd and directed at the rest of the population

Jac Thomas
Infinity Culture Breakdown
4 min readDec 19, 2015

--

If you don’t know me personally, you might not realize that I’m a large fan of the Star Wars franchise. Even if you do know me personally, you may still not recognize the depths of my passion for the franchise, as I’m a normal guy and for the most part I keep my obsession to myself. However, there are certain triggers that bring out the fanboy in me, and the premiere of a new Star Wars movie has always been one of them.

This was me, last night right before I went in to see Star Wars: The Force Awakens:

Me, 1 hour before the premiere

So if you’re looking for a balanced look at how this movie compares with other holiday season blockbusters, you may want to check in with another media outlet. But if you’re interested in the (spoiler free) opinion of a lifelong fan (whose first foray into blogging was on starwars.com nearly 10 years ago), here is a review in which I intend to provide a slightly different perspective.

A Brief Note On Star Wars After George Lucas…

“There’s more to it than spaceships.” — George Lucas, prior to the release of ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’

As Star Wars fans, we all respect George, albeit in varying levels and in our own unique ways, depending on the individual’s own experiences. However, let me reply simply to George and say what we as a collective are thinking:

“Uh, Duh.”

It doesn’t take a cultural expert to look at Star Wars and see a lot more than just spaceships and ‘Laser Swords.’ It is not hard to see the original movies as storytelling masterpieces. Lucas, and many talented people working underneath him, seamlessly encapsulated the hero’s journey into a visually stunning space opera. This was was a feat that can easily be considered groundbreaking in 1977, and since that time, I think that you would be hard pressed to find another story that has captured the same magic. For many of us dedicated fans, that magic is an addiction. As with many addictions, there is a supplier, and for a very long time, our supplier was George Lucas.

For a long time, he treated his fans well, and that is a large part of why Star Wars is where it is today. During that time, I don’t think anyone would have wanted to imagine a world where a major entertainment corporation would come in and buy Lucas out of the property. However, the prequel trilogy had left a bad taste in many fans mouth, and the fan trust and untouchable status that Lucas had established was gone. By the time Disney has purchased the franchise, fans were eager to consider what the magic of Star Wars might feel like coming from the mind of someone other than its original creator.

That being said, I know there were many who were worried that Disney would be unable to capture the heart of the franchise; I know I had my own doubts. However, by the time that I had seen the full trailer(above), I was fairly certain the franchise was in capable hands.

The Force Awakens

Upon watching the movie last night, I can affirm to everyone, that this movie is indeed in capable hands, and headed very much in the right direction. I don’t care who you are, what your relationship is with Star Wars or movies in general, but I can in-good-conscience recommend this movie to anyone and with confidence that you will enjoy the hell out of it. And that, George, is what Star Wars is about, and you’re not the only person in the world that understands it. That’s why it was successful in 1977, that’s why it’s been a cultural force for over 35 years and that’s why people are so damn giddy about it. Star Wars is a special kind of magic and I am confident that this new movie will capture new and old fans alike.

And That’s All That Needs To Be Said.

I could go in depth about everything I liked about it, but it wouldn’t even matter. Everyone is going to get something different out of this movie, and that’s the beauty of it. Avoid spoilers, if possible, and if you’re still on the fence about if you should see it, watch the trailer (above), it won’t give anything away and should give you a taste of what’s in store.

However, if I still have your attention, I will say that the characters in this movie are a true caliber of their own. They are a highlight of the film and the franchise as a whole. I am incredibly excited as to what’s to come.

May The Force Be With You!

--

--

Jac Thomas
Infinity Culture Breakdown

This twitter does not reflect the opinions of any company or organization. It is solely the opinions, jokes and often fictional musings of Jac Thomas.