My Favorite January 2023 Reads

litwtch
Informal Musings
Published in
3 min readFeb 5, 2023

In January 2023, I read 49 books. Some were ARCs and some were childhood favorites of mine I got through pretty quickly. Here’s a quick round up of my favorites from this past month.

The Wind at My Back: Resilience, Grace, and Other Gifts from My Mentor, Raven Wilkinson by Misty Copeland

Cover for The Wind At My Back published by Grand Central Publishing

I technically got this book as an ARC way back in October 2022, but it took me a while to work through my queue. This was a fantastic book, and as a fan of ballet and Misty in general, this was a wonderful read that let me learn more about one of ballet’s honestly unsung heroes.

Hunter (Trilogy) by Mercedes Lackey

Cover for the first Hunter book (Hunter) published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

I read this series a couple of years ago, and found myself reading them again at the beginning of the year. While this is more of a YA book series (the main character is 16–18), this book is rich, filled with a really fascinating characters and a great setting. I highly recommend this series for anyone looking for a quick read that still packs a punch by one of the great authors.

The Next Shift: The Fall of Industry and the Rise of Health Care in Rust Belt America by Gabriel Winant

Cover for The Next Shift published by Harvard University Press

I read this book as part of the Schizophrenic Reads Premium Bookclub (a bookclub started by a great BookToker I follow). This book was incredibly informative and I learned a lot about how health care came to be how it is now (especially relevant with the pandemic) and it was really fascinating to see the links in post-war industrialization rise, fall, and eventual pivot to health care. A great read for anyone who wants to learn more about how health care got to the way it is today.

Life on the Rocks: Building a Future for Coral Reefs by Juli Berwald

Cover for Life on The Rocks published by Riverhead Books

Another read as part of the Schizophrenic Reads Book Club, this one was a well-written, informative, and impactful read about an area that I know little about. Combined with the author’s own experiences with mental illness in their family and the struggles as the COVID-19 virus hit the world and the impact of George Floyd’s death, this book was engaging and wonderful to read. Connecting coral to human nature, societal change, and one of the most devastating events in history was a bold choice, but it worked and the way the author weaved everything together made it engaging and an incredible read.

The Light We Carry: Overcoming in Uncertain Times by Michelle Obama

Cover for The Light We Carry published by Crown

The first book I finished in 2023, this book was less of a memoir and more of a series of meditations on how Michelle moves forward in hard times and what she does to keep herself grounded. I especially loved finding out that she and I both knit to mediate and relieve stress! A cute, quick read that is fun for anyone.

Thanks for reading my January review! What are the books you read in January? Did any stand out to you? I’d love to hear from you about your own reads for the past month.

--

--

litwtch
Informal Musings

enthusiastic researcher, who talks a lot about books but also about privacy and security, with a smattering of crafts and other interesting items